White Bean, Spinach, and Barley Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2007
I LOVE the combo of white beans with barley. Like many others, I cooked the barley in broth, and I let it cook for about 45 mins. I used dried beans instead of canned, I started them about 15 mins before I started the barley. I omitted the mushrooms and yellow pepper, but upped the garlic. I added a tad of garam masala, and plenty of crushed red pepper. I let the mixture of everything except the spinach cook for 20 mins. Then I added the spinach (more than 2 cups) for the last 10 mins. We topped with shredded mozzarella cheese. Delish!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2007
This was very good, although I don't know if I'd call it a stew. there wasn't much liquid to it at all. I ended up using 2 cans of stewed tomatoes with out draining them. Taste was very good, but it was more like a side dish for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DanaL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2007
This was very tasty, but as others have mentioned it was really almost too thick and needed some seasoning help. I added some vegetable stock to thin it out a bit and added some cajun type seasonings, more garlic and some more spinach to this. I tasted it right after I made it and really wasn't that impressed, but I let it sit in the fridge overnight and then WOW. Really much better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LindaT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2007
One word: Mmmmmm. Only changes were used pinto beans instead of white, and roasted the garlic in the oven instead of frying. Mmmmm. Mmmmm. Mmmmm. I am going to make lots of this and freeze it for my lunches now on Fridays during lent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2006
This wasn't bad, but it wasn't great. It was bland, like others said. The rosemary smelled wonderful cooking, but the flavor just wasn't there. Very easy to prepare! And it is a MEAL! Very thick and hearty. I left out the wine (who has two tablespoons of wine lying around?) and didn't have any peppers to add. All in all, it was a fine meal, but I probably won't repeat it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RachtheBach

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jasper, Missouri, USA
Living In: New Lenox, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2006
We honestly didn't care for this stew. It was very bland even after spicing it with herbs, more garlic and stock. I can't imagine the stew with only garlic, rosemary and a pinch of red pepper flakes. There are just other recipes for soups that I prefer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Waco, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2006
This is an excellent recipe - it reheats well and is even better the second day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2006
My daughter ate this but said it was a bit bland even with the pepper flakes. Not a bad dish by any means just not to her taste. Thanks for letting me try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: St Austell, Cornwall, England, U.K.
Living In: Plymouth, Devon, England, U.K.
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2006
This was okay, not spectacular. I followed the recipe with the exception of substituting chicken broth for water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2006
This was easy to make. Barley needs to cook at least 45 minutes. Used brandy instead of wine cause that is what I had in the house. Next time I will make with vegetable stockand use the canned tomatoes without draining. This is a very colorful dish with wonderful textures. But, it needs more spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Georgetown, Grand Cayman, Cayman Islands

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Creamy Italian White Bean Soup

See how to make a healthy Italian-style white bean soup with fresh spinach.

Spicy Chicken and White Bean Chili

See how to make a simple and delicious white bean chili.

White Bean and Artichoke Salad

This simple chilled bean salad is dressed with olive oil and wine vinegar.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States