White Bean, Spinach, and Barley Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by MNFoodieMom
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2013
I agree with many of the reviewers and made modifications as a result. I used chicken broth and canned tomatoes as a base. I didn't have barley so I used Orzo, didn't have enough liquid but the flavor was great. I browned up a bit of bacon then simmered it with tomatoes and chicken broth. Added white beans and orzo at the end and topped it with spinach and grated parm. It was very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2012
Despite adding various spices after reading the reviews this still came out bland. Definitely needs some grated or melted cheese. It is very filling though and worked out well for lunches at work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2012
Calling this dish a stew is correct, really thick . Next time I would rinse the cooked barley before adding to the pot. Also use more chicken broth and add a can of mixed beans. And some more spices to kick it up a bit. I would make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Brampton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2011
This was yummy, but too eaily overcooked for our family chaos. Gets a bit mushy if not stopped at right time - and that makes freezing/reheating a challenge later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
Good and healthy. Easy to swallow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Staten Island, New York, USA
Living In: Muncy, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2010
Good flavor, I added 1/2 a can of left over vegetable broth to make it a little more soup-like. Doubled the mushrooms and white wine. Needed something salty - I added parmesan to my bowl. Freezes well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2010
Very good. I like broth so I added 3 additional cups of chicken broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2010
Following the recipe exactly, it's ridiculously bland. However, with a couple changes, we inhaled it. Used chicken broth in place of water to give it some flavor and used waaaay more than three cups. Just kept dumping it in as needed. Doubled the beans, and did not drain the beans or tomatoes. Used a lot of spinach, fresh rosemary, and used my favorite, Beecher's Flagship cheese on top. Pair with bread and you're in heaven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by heathertup

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Silverdale, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2010
Very good will make again. I left off the mushrooms and red pepper flakes since those are not favorites in our house, but other wise a great and tasty soup with lots of flavor! Yumm. I would have given it 5 stars if it didn't have the mushrooms and red pepper flakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amber

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2010
Great vegetarian meal. I added extra mushrooms & spinach, added some black beans & corn and an extra little bit of spice. Leftovers taste great. This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Creamy Italian White Bean Soup

See how to make a healthy Italian-style white bean soup with fresh spinach.

Spicy Chicken and White Bean Chili

See how to make a simple and delicious white bean chili.

White Bean and Artichoke Salad

This simple chilled bean salad is dressed with olive oil and wine vinegar.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States