White Bean, Spinach, and Barley Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2010
Following the recipe exactly, it's ridiculously bland. However, with a couple changes, we inhaled it. Used chicken broth in place of water to give it some flavor and used waaaay more than three cups. Just kept dumping it in as needed. Doubled the beans, and did not drain the beans or tomatoes. Used a lot of spinach, fresh rosemary, and used my favorite, Beecher's Flagship cheese on top. Pair with bread and you're in heaven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by heathertup

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Silverdale, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2010
Very good will make again. I left off the mushrooms and red pepper flakes since those are not favorites in our house, but other wise a great and tasty soup with lots of flavor! Yumm. I would have given it 5 stars if it didn't have the mushrooms and red pepper flakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amber

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2010
Great vegetarian meal. I added extra mushrooms & spinach, added some black beans & corn and an extra little bit of spice. Leftovers taste great. This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2010
I made this recipe with turkey broth I had on hand and my husband and I liked it very much. I like the consistency and serve it as the meal, or as a side dish. I did add additional water only to keep it from burning while keeping it warm in the skillet, used fresh rosemary and added salt and pepper after tasting the finished dish. I did think it needed an additional spice flavor but I wasn't sure what. After reading the reviews I think I will add some oregano or basil next time, or try some cajun seasoning. I plan to include it in the rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookin'gal

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Syracuse, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
This was delicious! As stated, it is even better the next day so makes for the perfect prepare and take to lunch soup. The most common substitution I make with all soups is to use an herbal tea in place of the broth, a great way to add some nutrients and cut back on sodium.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Laramie, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
Very mild flavor that is best as leftovers. Mine turned out very thick and I ate it with a fork. I'm not sure I would make it again, but possibly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellydancer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Traverse City, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2009
Not bad, not spectacular. This recipe is like an empty canvas, just waiting to be painted. there are so many ways to go. Italian - add oregano and sausage. Spanish - more tomatoes and chilies. Indian - potatoes, peas and curry. Definately use broth, not water. Use this beginning to create your own masterpiece!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salem, Oregon, USA
Living In: Albany, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2009
very good play around with the spices it was a little bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2009
This is a very thick, healthy stew, but it was a bit bland when I made it exactly as written. On the second try, added a vegetable bullion cube, increased the pepper to 1 tsp, and added some salt and pepper. With these additions, it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2009
This stew was very healthy (I substituted pinto for white beans), but it didn't have much flavor. After I added several spices it tasted fine, but the ingredients didn't have any flavor on their own. Also, after being refrigerated for one day, the spinach took on a slimy texture - quite unpleasant. However, it was very filling and not difficult to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Italian White Bean Soup

See how to make a healthy Italian-style white bean soup with fresh spinach.

Chef John's Beef and Barley Stew

Discover Chef John's delicious recipe for "stick to your ribs" stew.

Spicy Chicken and White Bean Chili

See how to make a simple and delicious white bean chili.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States