White Bean, Spinach, and Barley Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2006
This was easy to make. Barley needs to cook at least 45 minutes. Used brandy instead of wine cause that is what I had in the house. Next time I will make with vegetable stockand use the canned tomatoes without draining. This is a very colorful dish with wonderful textures. But, it needs more spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Georgetown, Grand Cayman, Cayman Islands

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2006
I thought this was one of the best stews I have made yet this season. I used four cups of vegetable broth instead of water to give it extra flavor. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Hartford, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Windsor, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2006
I wasn't too crazy about this dish. It certainly wasn't a stew. It was basically a meal. I did cook the barley in some stock to give it flavour and I also cooked it longer, as per another reviewer's suggestion. It might have been better if the dish was served over the barley instead of mixed in. I served it with a nice crusty bread. Though my husband I ate it and was ok, the kids weren't crazy about it (and they usually do like beans and grains and such). I won't be making it again. It's too bad...it seemed promising...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2006
Deee-lish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Athens, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2006
My husband and I loved this recipe. Like others have mentioned, we needed to season it with some additional salt, pepper, garlic and paprika, but overall a great, filling and healthy meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2006
This was really good and simple to make.. My boys loved it...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOMOF3

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2006
My teenager who is a novice cook and vegetarian prepared this tonight! We all enjoyed it!. I spiced mine up with a little red hot. It is definitely a STEW not a soup and we appreciated the thick consistancy. i know i'll make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by suzanne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cahokia, Illinois, USA
Living In: Matthews, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2005
This stew was wonderful. Very easy to make and very filling -- it's the kind of stew you want on an afternoon when you're happy to be sitting inside and not be outside shoveling!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2005
Pretty good soup. On recommendation of others, I used broth and water. I also used less barley so it wouldn't get as thick. Near the end of cooking, it was still really thick so I added a couple more cups of water. After salt & peppering it up it was pretty good. I've been craving something healthy like this and it hit the spot. While we ate, I left this on the stove on low for another 30 minutes or so and it got better the longer it cooked. So, if you have the time I'd recommend simmering on low for 30-40 minutes instead of 10 min. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2005
I'm only giving this a 3 because my mom loved it! It was very bland and I didn't like the yellow pepper but that's because I don't really care for peppers. Don't think I'll try it again, sorry : (
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOONNOODLE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Everett, Washington, USA
Living In: Republic, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Italian White Bean Soup

See how to make a healthy Italian-style white bean soup with fresh spinach.

Chef John's Beef and Barley Stew

Discover Chef John's delicious recipe for "stick to your ribs" stew.

Spicy Chicken and White Bean Chili

See how to make a simple and delicious white bean chili.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States