White Bean Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2008
Nice hearty soup. As others suggested, I used 2 carrots and 2 cans of beans. I used italian seasoning instead of thyme/savory/parsley and 4 cups homemade chicken broth with 2 cups water. It was bland as written, but after adding salt, black pepper, cumin, and paprika, it turned out good. I also added a handful of wheat rotini towards the end to make it a little heartier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DC Girly Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Columbia, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2008
This recipe was very flexible, allowing me to adapt it to what I had on hand: oil/butter, frozen diced peas and carrot, ham, garlic, chicken broth, white beans, orzo pasta, frozen whole tomatoes from our summer garden, thyme, and parsley. I added a little bit more butter for seasoning and it was awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dwieberg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elmira Heights, New York, USA
Living In: Ellijay, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2007
This soup is AWESOME. We threw in a handful of barley and a little extra garlic (garlic lovers) but aside from that, it will remain in our family recipes forever and ever. It is so healthy and so, so delicious. Make it at Christmas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2007
I really LOVED this soup but also made a few changes and followed what a few others have done. Used 3 1/2 cups chicken broth, 1 1/2 cps fresh spinach, 2 carrots, used canned whole peeled tomatoes and quartered them, definitely needs 2 cans of white beans. I also used 5 strips of morning star bacon (vegetarian bacon) which really gave it the bacon flavor but still healthy without the grease. I also used hand electric blender only because we were very impatient and didn't want to wait for soup. It turned out absolutely perfect and I think I may puree the rest tomorrow to see how that does. (My daughter loves it that way) Easy, tasty and healthy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Souplover

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2007
This recipe was wonderful. I did make a few changes. I used a can of seasoned tomatoes, 2 cans of vegetarian broth, 2 cans of white beans, and 4 small cut up red potatoes. After it cooked and I blended half of the soup, I heated it up and added fresh spinach until it wilted. The flavor and consistency was perfect and I will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2007
I only gave this a 4, because I changed it to suit our tastes the second time around. Changes: 2 carrots, 1/2 tsp. savory, 4 c. chicken broth and 2 cans white beans. Also good with zuchinni added.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2007
on real cold winter days I'd probably add some bacon with the garlic and onions in the beginning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2007
I made a few changes in the recipe since my wife is not a garlic lover. Since chicken stock comes 4 cips to the container, I used 4 cups of stock, 1/2 half an onion. I also added an additional can of beans. ( for additional bean taste) and added kale ( just because I had some) instead of savory. and I dropped the corn. This made an excellent soup. I used a hand blender to blend some of the beans and it came out just the right consistency. This is definitely a top drawer add on to any meal. Very easy to make and very healthy eating. I highly recommend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2007
Tasty but it was too watery. Next time I would only blend 1/4 of the soup instead of half. I added a bunch of torn up wheat bread to my bowl to make it thicker. Otherwise pretty tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2006
Really Good! I took the suggestions of others and used vegitable broth, added more beans (and I mixed it up, northern beans, white kidney and garbanzo beans), potatoes, spinach and extra garlic. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Italian White Bean Soup

See how to make a healthy Italian-style white bean soup with fresh spinach.

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

White Bean Chicken Breast Chili

A flavorful chili that’s a little lighter with less fat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States