White Bean Chicken Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2007
This is my favorite chili recipe not only because its incredibly delicious, but because its one of the healthiest entrees you can make. I followed others' suggestions and added 2 tablespoons of cornstarch, 2 diced jalapenos (some said this was a little too hot, but I thought it just about right), canned corn instead of fresh, and salsa verde instead of canned tomatillos. One thing to remember is that the quality of the Salsa Verde (or tomatillos) is very important as it is perhaps the predominant flavor. Make sure to use a good quality salsa--that is, one you really enjoy on its own. I prefer Target's "Archer Farms Salsa Verde", which is about $3 for 24oz.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
629 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2007
This was great! After reading most of the comments, I substituted a bottle of salsa verde for the tomatillos, used two cans of diced tomatoes with chilis instead of the plain tomatoes, used a fresh jalapeno instead of the canned chilis, added a little extra broth and added 2 Tablespoons of cornstarch. I put it all in the crock pot and let it cook for about 8 hours on low. Garnished the bowls with sour cream and cheddar cheese. It was fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
528 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2007
Another Cook off winner to add to this recipe. I doctored it a bit too: I used the jar of Salsa verde, extra green chili's, fire roasted diced tomatoes, LOTS of cumin, and some chili powder as well. I heated the spices in the oil before adding both cubed and ground chicken. I used the ground chicken for texture - more traditional chili style, and added a touch a cream. MMmmmm. Thanks to other reviews, I was ready with the corn starch to thicken it up so it wasn't as soupy. I would like to say I loved it - but, by time I made my way back to the table to have some, it was GONE. I don't think it lasted 15 minutes!! I WILL cook this again, I would like to have more than just a sample spoon full...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
362 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2006
I would give this 6 stars if I could! A few minor changes include canned corn, 2 cans of beans, salsa verde instead of tomatillos, and some thickening with 3 tablespoons of cornstarch in 1/2 c milk, all were suggestions from other reviews. I also simmered it for an hour. It is a nice change from the slow cooker taco soup that is also wonderful! I am adding this last sentence after reading a more recent review by someone else who added lime to the chili and felt that it made it bitter....if you read the recipe again you will see that they suggest lime slices as a garnish:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
182 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2007
I've been making this chili for 2-3 years and EVERYONE who eats it asks for the recipe. I add more beans and chicken to make it thicker and heartier and serve bowls of the chili with grated cheese, onions, tomatoes and sour cream as toppings but without all the sour cream, it even meets weight watchers criteria. I've had trouble finding tomatillos so I have substituted using green enchilada sauce or green salsa. Still SCRUMPTIOUS! My husband has prepared this chili for camping trips. It's still perfect after having been frozen! Try it. You won't be sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
106 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JANICER8
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2007
I was making this recipe for a friend who just had surgery. After I filled the container that I was taking her, there was enough for my husband and I to each have a bowl. My husband tasted it, looked up and said this is a keeper! I never thought I would be a fan of chicken chili, but this is fantastic. Because we’re giving it away, I didn’t add any of the suggested toppings, I just didn’t have any in the house, but it was wonderful without any! I couldn't find tomatillos, so I added diced tomatoes it their place. That was the only thing I changed. This is going to be a new staple in our household, and the fact that it's healthy is a real plus!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
88 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JANICER8

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hawthorne, California, USA
Living In: Westminster, California, USA
Photo by MAMASPICE
Reviewed: May 4, 2008
Mui Bien! Of course I had to do it "my way". 1. Used 2 nice large hand trimmed chicken breasts. 2. Patted them down with Emeril's Southwestern Essence and lightly seared with onions and some bell pepper. 3. Poured in the chicken stock, two cans of Rotel Tomatoes w/ Lime & Cilantro and a large jar of La Victoria Salsa Verde and added the spices (plus a bay leaf). 4. Simmered the breast 40 minutes then pulled out and shredded. 5. Returned to pot and added beans & a large can of sweet corn. 6. Cooked the chili down several hours and added a couple of cubes of chicken broth and vegetable broth along the way with some water and cornstarch. This is a GREAT, healthy chili with an interesting flavor which we all enjoyed and I will make again. This is NOT a recipe I will share as good chili recipes are "sacred". Ha!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
81 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MAMASPICE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Living In: Lakewood, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2007
I won the office chili cookoff with this recipe. Used fresh everything - includnig the tomatillo, tomatoes and chiles. Also threw in one small habanero. The dish is colorful and wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shaagy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: South Bend, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2007
This was simple and very good. I made it for house guests. We had 5 adults and we ate it all up even though the recipe says it serves 9. We did have seconds though. I substituted Salsa Verde for the tomatillos, used 1 & 1/2 lbs chicken meat, and doubled the white beans because otherwise it would have seemed a bit soupy and less chunky. This had a nice spicy bite to it but was not too much. I didn't need to add any salt at all because it was just perfect. I am now going to add this recipe to my regular rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandy Williams

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bellevue, Washington, USA
Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2007
I could not find canned tomatillos, so I used a jar of salsa verde instead, as suggested by other reviewers. Also, I did not have any chicken already cooked, so I used cubed raw chicken and allowed the chicken, broth, tomato, green chiles, & spices mixture to simmer until the chicken was tender. This made a nice hearty chili - not much broth. Since I prefer it thinner, I added another can of broth and doubled the spices at the end, but the taste was great before I made those alterations. Loved the chili. I will note that I was unsure of the addition of the salsa verde, so I waited until the recipe called for the addition of the corn/beans until I added it. Tasted before and after and I really think the salsa made this recipe. The flavor was excellent prior to the addition, but had no "kick." Might only rate 4 stars as written since I think the canned tomatillos are probably not as flavorful as the salsa verde, but since my grocery doesn't carry them... Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 705) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Chicken and White Bean Chili

See how to make a simple and delicious white bean chili.

White Bean Chicken Breast Chili

A flavorful chili that’s a little lighter with less fat.

White Bean Chicken Chili

A simple, hearty chili inspired by the flavors of old Mexico.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States