White Bean Chicken Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2015
We've made this several times now, and we love it. Not only is it delicious, but it's a quick meal to prepare after work. I always just buy a deli chicken from the grocery store. Other than that, we made the recipe as written. Thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2015
I took this to a Super Bowl party and everyone liked it. I used all the ingredients except the coriander. The only changes I made were in the way I put it together. I live in Florida, so fresh Tomatillos are always available. I roasted the tomatillos, FRESH jalapenos, and poblano peppers and garlic under the broiler for a few minutes. I peeled and seeded all the peppers but one, you never can tell how how those seeds are, can always add more later. Threw those items in the blender and chopped them up. I sauteed the onions and then added the blended mixture in and coked that up and then added the tomatoes and all the seasoning. After that cooked for a few minutes, I added the chicken broth, but I added about 4 cups or so. Then I cooked that covered for an hour. I feel like the flavors needed to meld together. The next morning I threw it in a crockpot and added the beans, cooked chicken and fresh corn off the cob, brought it up to heat and served. Was nice and thick, had a great kick to it, but not over the top. Try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2015
I love this recipe and have made it a ton. I double (at least) the cumin and also add chili powder. I use the cilantro green olive salsa (with tomatillos) from Salpica. It's expensive, but worth it. Add avocados, sour cream, crushed tortillas, cheddar cheese, black olives, serve with rice, etc... I double/triple it for parties and everyone always wants the recipe. It's a terrific find so thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2015
I used Green salsa verde instead of the chiles and tomatillos and added a can of black beans. Great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Holland, Michigan, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2015
This was great. I let it simmer for a bit longer than suggested for a more concentrated flavor and texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2015
I made this tonight and WOW! I honestly have never had chicken chili before and I didn't think I would like it all that much. I made a few alterations because I couldn't find tomatillos. I followed the suggestions of other reviewers and used a jar of ChiChi's salsa verde in the place of the tomatillos. I used 2 cans of diced tomatoes with green chilis (smaller cans, I think they were around 12 oz each. I cut the chicken breast up and browned it in a separate pan before adding to the soup. I used a whole bag of frozen corn, and I used 2 cans of canellini beans (with juice). I used 1/2 tsp of all the recommended spices listed, along with an extra 1/2 cup of water. It turned out AMAZING! SO much flavor! I topped it with sour cream, cheddar, and fritos, but honestly, it was great all on it's own! Definitely a winning low fat/cal recipe! TRY IT! **** Update**** I made this again tonight... rather than using white beans, I used 2 cans of pinto beans and 1 can of black beans. It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Candice Dyer

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Bloomington, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2015
I rarely write a review, but I rarely try a new recipe this good. I did the same as many others and used Salsa Verde rather than tomatillos. I also started 3 chicken breasts in the crock pot with a can of tomatoes, a small can of diced chiles, and a cup of chicken broth then transferred them to the dutch oven I sauteed the onion and garlic in to finish the soup. I used canned corn. I put sour cream, diced avocado, shredded cheese, tortilla strips, and cilantro on the table for people to add if they wanted and served with quesadillas. My family of 4 ate the whole pot and all said the recipe was a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tamara Harris

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2015
This was a good meal for our family. The parents liked it a lot, the kids, not so much. One reviewer recommended adding corn starch and I think we'll try that next time because it was a little thin but still very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2014
Fantastic! I doubled the garlic and used fresh tomatillos and fire roasted green chilies. Upped the cumin to 1/2 tsp as well. So. Yummy, will pass this on and make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2014
I have made this recipe for every Superbowl Party I've held for the last 3-4 years. It is a huge hit! I add canned Chipotle peppers or Chipotle hot sauce (not too much, however), a little white wine, frozen corn, and I grill the chicken first. I pre-make it on the stove and then day of, put it in the crockpot, add the corn, chicken and beans, and cook it on slow for 4 hours to absorb all the flavors! I also use plain Greek yogurt instead of sour cream---gives it a decidedly different "kick"!!! One of the best recipes I've ever found online!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 766) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

White Bean Chicken Breast Chili

A flavorful chili that’s a little lighter with less fat.

Spicy Chicken and White Bean Chili

See how to make a simple and delicious white bean chili.

White Bean Chicken Chili

A simple, hearty chili inspired by the flavors of old Mexico.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States