White Bean Chicken Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 7, 2015
This was delicious. Doubled the recipe, only substitution was "My Brother's Salsa Tomatillo" from Walmart because I couldn't find canned tomatillos. I used one 16 oz. jar for my doubled recipe and it added plenty of flavor. I did squeeze in the juice of one lime. I recommend the addition of lime juice; it really gave it some zing. I also seasoned my chicken heavily when I poached it. This was taken to a chili potluck.. I made it on the stove the day before, simmered for about an hour and a half, and added 2 teaspoons of cornstarch dissolved in half a cup of cold water to thicken it a little. Transferred to slow cooker to take to the potluck. Everyone must have liked it because it was the first one to go.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2015
Excellent I used two cans of beans andashed about 1/4-1/3 of them to make the stew thicker. Added chopped avacado, chopped cilantro and a squeeze fresh lime juice when serving, would be good with tofu too
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2015
This is a serious major delicious bean soup! In place of the tomatillos I used a 14oz bottle of salsa verde because my store didn't carry tomatillos. I added 2 cans of drained white beans instead of 1 can, because I love beans. The extra beans and the salsa verde made it a perfect thickness so there was no need to add any cornstarch. I replaced the fresh corn with half a bag of frozen corn for convenience. By mistakes I bought a 7oz can of whole green chillis, instead of chopped green chillis. Now I am glad I did because I chopped them myself and the texture was oustanding. Even though I picked the mild green chillis, it still gave the soup some nice spicey heat. With that I suggest you do not get hot ones unless you are a seasoned, conditioned spicey food connesseur. I didn't have left over chicken, so i cubed 2 chicken breasts, lightly spiced it with all the spices in the recipe then sauteed it. I removed it from my cast iron pot, then started the cooking part following the recipe's instructions. Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leialohadm

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2015
Very good! I stuck with the seasonings and proportions, I only modified based on ingredients I had on hand. I used 1 jar of verde salsa instead of tomatillos and a can of diced tomatoes that contained chiles. Delicious, great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2015
I used the basic ingredients threw it in the crock pot for about 5 hours and it came out perfect!! Made my own broth and used all fresh ingredients except the beans. Delish!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2015
Awesome and easy to make. Modifications- shredded the chicken vs cubing, one can cannelinni beans, crushed tomatoes with one can Rotello, used a potato mashed to break up some of the beans, added one TBSP chili powder. Healthy alternative and tastes great- worth trying!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alpha Zulu
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2015
This recipe is amazing. My boyfriend didn't think it was going to be good but definitely change his mind after trying it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2015
Very good. Followed directions; using who tomatillos, broken up and about 1/2 cup of salsa verde. No thickening agent. Served over cornbread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2015
Great recipe! Since I'm new at cooking, I didn't use the tomatillos or coriander seed because I didn't know what they were; it turned out fine! (I have since looked both ingredients up and am prepared for my next meal that calls for these!) I also used 1 can of corn kernels instead of fresh ears of corn, 1 can of Rotel instead of the diced tomatoes and then the diced green chilies, and used 1 can of the white chili beans instead of plain white beans. It was fabulous! I have shared this recipe with many of my co-workers, plus my fiancé absolutely loved it! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2015
We loved it!! Substituted based on reviewers remarks - salsa verde and tomatoes with chills for
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 767) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

White Bean Chicken Breast Chili

A flavorful chili that’s a little lighter with less fat.

Spicy Chicken and White Bean Chili

See how to make a simple and delicious white bean chili.

White Bean Chicken Chili

A simple, hearty chili inspired by the flavors of old Mexico.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States