White Bean Chicken Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2015
I used Green salsa verde instead of the chiles and tomatillos and added a can of black beans. Great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Holland, Michigan, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2015
This was great. I let it simmer for a bit longer than suggested for a more concentrated flavor and texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2015
I made this tonight and WOW! I honestly have never had chicken chili before and I didn't think I would like it all that much. I made a few alterations because I couldn't find tomatillos. I followed the suggestions of other reviewers and used a jar of ChiChi's salsa verde in the place of the tomatillos. I used 2 cans of diced tomatoes with green chilis (smaller cans, I think they were around 12 oz each. I cut the chicken breast up and browned it in a separate pan before adding to the soup. I used a whole bag of frozen corn, and I used 2 cans of canellini beans (with juice). I used 1/2 tsp of all the recommended spices listed, along with an extra 1/2 cup of water. It turned out AMAZING! SO much flavor! I topped it with sour cream, cheddar, and fritos, but honestly, it was great all on it's own! Definitely a winning low fat/cal recipe! TRY IT! **** Update**** I made this again tonight... rather than using white beans, I used 2 cans of pinto beans and 1 can of black beans. It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Candice Dyer

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Bloomington, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2015
I rarely write a review, but I rarely try a new recipe this good. I did the same as many others and used Salsa Verde rather than tomatillos. I also started 3 chicken breasts in the crock pot with a can of tomatoes, a small can of diced chiles, and a cup of chicken broth then transferred them to the dutch oven I sauteed the onion and garlic in to finish the soup. I used canned corn. I put sour cream, diced avocado, shredded cheese, tortilla strips, and cilantro on the table for people to add if they wanted and served with quesadillas. My family of 4 ate the whole pot and all said the recipe was a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tamara Harris

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2015
This was a good meal for our family. The parents liked it a lot, the kids, not so much. One reviewer recommended adding corn starch and I think we'll try that next time because it was a little thin but still very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2014
Fantastic! I doubled the garlic and used fresh tomatillos and fire roasted green chilies. Upped the cumin to 1/2 tsp as well. So. Yummy, will pass this on and make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2014
I have made this recipe for every Superbowl Party I've held for the last 3-4 years. It is a huge hit! I add canned Chipotle peppers or Chipotle hot sauce (not too much, however), a little white wine, frozen corn, and I grill the chicken first. I pre-make it on the stove and then day of, put it in the crockpot, add the corn, chicken and beans, and cook it on slow for 4 hours to absorb all the flavors! I also use plain Greek yogurt instead of sour cream---gives it a decidedly different "kick"!!! One of the best recipes I've ever found online!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SLCPaladin
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2014
This recipe is to die for! I've made this dish twice and both times it's been a hit. I usually get a package of frozen corn steamers and use that instead of fresh corn as I make this in the winter and fresh corn isn't really available. Also, I up the amount of chicken so the chili is a bit higher in protein. One hint: tomatillos are sometimes found in the Mexican/Latino section of the grocery store. I've used the brand "La Costena" and "Embasa" and both brands have worked well in this dish. If you can't find whole tomatillos, then search for salsa verde. However, I would make sure that the ingredients in the salsa verde is mostly tomatillos (some brands add a lot of other stuff to their salsa verde). Lastly, we think Tostitos Hint of Lime chips pairs well with this dish along with sour cream, cheddar cheese, cilantro, avocado, and fresh lime juice. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLCPaladin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: South Jordan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2014
An instant family favorite, even my picky 4 year old licked the bowl clean. My adjustments: 2 17 ounce cans of tomatoes with chilis, a few dashes of tapatia hot sauce, a lot more cumin ( other rater's suggestion), and 2 cans of white beans. Will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by T Youngblood

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2014
I really like this recipe. The flavor is good, without making much in the way of adjustments, other than just for ease. For example, I used a larger chicken breast because I just used the whole thing. Several of the ingredients didn't come in the amounts called for, so I just got as close as possible and went with it. Great chili, and super healthy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 753) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

White Bean Chicken Breast Chili

A flavorful chili that’s a little lighter with less fat.

Spicy Chicken and White Bean Chili

See how to make a simple and delicious white bean chili.

White Bean Chicken Chili

A simple, hearty chili inspired by the flavors of old Mexico.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States