White Bean Chicken Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2013
Even using a more spirited and complexly flavored salsa verde rather than basic canned tomatillos didn’t elevate this higher than “just ok.” It pretty much tasted simply like chicken, tomatoes and cumin. Didn’t have the full-bodied depth of flavor I expected. Surprisingly, however, Hubs, who made it clear after I made it that he is no fan of white chicken chili, liked it better than he thought he would. This was improved with a dollop of sour cream and some fresh cilantro upon serving. Oh…and by the way, its initial downfall in my view is that it is seriously lacking in eye appeal, once again, much inproved with garnish. Following day update: Hubs and I had this for lunch today and we agree it was much better! An overnight stint in the fridge obviously gave all the flavors a chance to get to know each other and blend happily! Also, stirring enough sour cream in to make it all nice and creamy really makes it better too. There was such a difference between last night and today that I am compelled to raise my rating from three to four stars. Final note: for best flavor, prepare in advance.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2013
Very good! A nice alternative to normal chili! Will for sure make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JESSIEJGTDK

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
This is a wonderful recipe. I used salsa verde as suggested and it was so delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
I followed the recipe exactly except for: -I used fresh tomatillos instead of canned -2 cans of white beans instead of one (one can butter beans, one can northern beans) -I used meat from a rotisserie chicken from the grocery store -garnished with "scoop" tortilla chips, sour cream, and limes It was amazing! I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2012
made it my cooking chicken, onions, and a green pepper with spices, but adding all other ingredients in the crock pot. added cooked chicken to crock pot and let cook on high for 3-4 hours. OHHH so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mobile Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Panama City, Florida, USA
Living In: Mobile, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
Delicious! Can't wait to make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2012
Found this while looking for something quick to make. Used part of a store cooked chicken. Used a can of diced tomatoes and a can of diced tomatoes with jalepenos (don't know correct spelling) since I didn't have chiles. I do not have coriander seed so made without. Also canned corn in place of the ears. I thought it was great. Served with a nice crusty bread. Next time I will top with the cheddar cheese I think! Try this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Di

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Easton, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Factoryville, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2012
Big substitution but still great. In my supermarket, I had trouble finding canned tomatillos. I have looked in two stores and cannot find them. Not knowing exactly what tomatillos are like, I decided to experiment and replace with a jar of medium salsa. The chili is very good with this change. I wish I could find and try the tomatillos. Also, I was not sure if white beans are white kidney beans or great northern beans. Not sure if that makes much of a difference. I would make this recipe again and hope to try it with the tomatillos someday.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2012
Good recipe, we switch from this to the McCormick white chili recipe, they have a little different flavor.. Very good, we do this in the Crock too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2012
Great recipe. I used the salsa verde in place of the tomatillos and added a second can of diced tomatoes like others suggested. The chili came out nice and thick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 704) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Chicken and White Bean Chili

See how to make a simple and delicious white bean chili.

White Bean Chicken Breast Chili

A flavorful chili that’s a little lighter with less fat.

White Bean Chicken Chili

A simple, hearty chili inspired by the flavors of old Mexico.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States