White Bean Chicken Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Photo by mommaveg
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2013
Easy and good. I didn't use canned beans i boiled my own. I also didn't find canned tomatillos so I chopped up my own. since corn is out of season i don't like frozen corn on the cob its mush so i did use a can for that however. I baked my chicken in the oven with lime juice and some herbs. good recipe I'll make again. I also like it can easily be made as a meatless monday dish subsitute the broth with vegetable and add some tofu or something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2013
Made this Sat and I was amazed. I threw all of this in a crock pot and cooked on low for about 8 hours then shredded the chicken breasts and it was sooo very good!!! I had never tried a white chili before so I didnt know what to expect but this will definitly be made again. Only difference was instead of the tomatillo's I threw in 3/4 a jar of Salsa verde and topped it off with sour cream and cheese. Hubby wasnt keen on trying it said it looked weird but tasted great!!! Perfect kick on spices...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethany, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
This is just ok, it's similar to a chicken tortilla soup recipe I have, but no where near as good. The coriander seed ruined it for me, and otherwise the chili didn't have much flavor. Can't believe this recipe is rated so well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2013
Even using a more spirited and complexly flavored salsa verde rather than basic canned tomatillos didn’t elevate this higher than “just ok.” It pretty much tasted simply like chicken, tomatoes and cumin. Didn’t have the full-bodied depth of flavor I expected. Surprisingly, however, Hubs, who made it clear after I made it that he is no fan of white chicken chili, liked it better than he thought he would. This was improved with a dollop of sour cream and some fresh cilantro upon serving. Oh…and by the way, its initial downfall in my view is that it is seriously lacking in eye appeal, once again, much inproved with garnish. Following day update: Hubs and I had this for lunch today and we agree it was much better! An overnight stint in the fridge obviously gave all the flavors a chance to get to know each other and blend happily! Also, stirring enough sour cream in to make it all nice and creamy really makes it better too. There was such a difference between last night and today that I am compelled to raise my rating from three to four stars. Final note: for best flavor, prepare in advance.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2013
Very good! A nice alternative to normal chili! Will for sure make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessie Donahue

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
This is a wonderful recipe. I used salsa verde as suggested and it was so delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
I followed the recipe exactly except for: -I used fresh tomatillos instead of canned -2 cans of white beans instead of one (one can butter beans, one can northern beans) -I used meat from a rotisserie chicken from the grocery store -garnished with "scoop" tortilla chips, sour cream, and limes It was amazing! I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2012
made it my cooking chicken, onions, and a green pepper with spices, but adding all other ingredients in the crock pot. added cooked chicken to crock pot and let cook on high for 3-4 hours. OHHH so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mobile Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Panama City, Florida, USA
Living In: Mobile, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
Delicious! Can't wait to make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2012
Found this while looking for something quick to make. Used part of a store cooked chicken. Used a can of diced tomatoes and a can of diced tomatoes with jalepenos (don't know correct spelling) since I didn't have chiles. I do not have coriander seed so made without. Also canned corn in place of the ears. I thought it was great. Served with a nice crusty bread. Next time I will top with the cheddar cheese I think! Try this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Di

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Easton, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Factoryville, Pennsylvania, USA

Displaying results 121-130 (of 747) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

White Bean Chicken Breast Chili

A flavorful chili that’s a little lighter with less fat.

Spicy Chicken and White Bean Chili

See how to make a simple and delicious white bean chili.

White Bean Chicken Chili

A simple, hearty chili inspired by the flavors of old Mexico.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States