White Bean Chicken Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2012
Great recipe! Like other reviewers, I substituted Salsa Verde for the tomatillos. Also added about another clove of garlic and an extra 1/4 tsp cumin, but omitted the coriander seed (didn't have any), and used a can of corn (drained) instead of fresh corn. Let it simmer a bit longer to give a chance for the flavors to blend even more. Served with cornbread. Both of my guys - husband and 21 month old son - thoroughly approved!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dawn~

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Kingwood, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Export, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by carmalex
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2012
What a great recipe. I made it exactly as written. It was absolutely delicious! I served it with sour cream, cilantro and lime wedges.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2012
YUM, YUM, YUM!!! Perfect on a cold autumn day after a football game. The house smelled wonderful as this simmered on the stove. I doubled the recipe to have enough to freeze for lunches. I substituted the following: salsa verde, canned tomatoes with green chillies, canned sweet corn, and added half ground chicken and half cooked cut up chicken, to give it more of a chili texture. After it simmered for about an hour, in a separate little bowl I put 3 tablespoons of corn starch (add less if you're not doubling the recipe like I did) and added a little cold water and stirred till dissolved. I then slowly stirred the corn starch mixture into the chili to thicken, and simmered for another five minutes. I served with a large dollop of lite sour cream on top! We thought it had the right amount of kick! DELISH!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JUDI BAKES

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2012
This recipe turned out very well! My husband and I liked it and were happy to finish up the leftovers the following day. I used 1 1/2 cups frozen corn instead of 2 ears fresh corn, and I substituted canned salsa verde for the tomatillos. My issue with the recipe mirrors that of other reviewers... it is not thick enough to be a chili. If I make this again, I'm planning to bulk it up by adding an extra can of beans or tomatoes (plus a little corn starch, if needed), and I'm also going to find a spicier salsa verde to give it more of a kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2012
whoaaa...i used salsa verde like another one suggested, and a small can of jalepenos. I seasoned with some red pepper flakes and omitted the coriander (as i had none)....now, here's the best part...it was a little too thin for "chili" so I added some crushed tortilla chips to thicken...omg...went to heaven and back..this is the only recipe i've ever commented on....and i had to share.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2012
This was easy to make and everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2012
This is my fiance's new favorite dish! I made just a couple of additions/substitutions: We couldn't find any decent salsa verde or canned tomatillos, so I pureed about a pound of fresh tomatillos in the food processor and added a tbsp each of salt and sugar, plus half a serrano pepper. We found that this gave it a very fresh, "green" flavor that was complemented by cilantro and lime for garnish. If you do this, drain and rinse your tomatoes so that the soup stays green. I used frozen corn rather than fresh, and about a tbsp of cumin as well. Crushed Hint of Lime Tostitos on top. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2012
Easy, Delicious and healthy too! I added chopped avocado and crushed tortilla chips on top, and used salsa instead of tomatillos as suggested. YUM.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2012
The family loved this soup. I didn't have any canned tomatillos, so just used a can of Rotel Mild. I also added a can of tomato sauce since I had more than 1 lb of chicken in the pot. Very tasty and will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2012
This was phenomenal!!! I added corn to it, YUMMY!!! I will definitely be making this again:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 715) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Chicken and White Bean Chili

See how to make a simple and delicious white bean chili.

White Bean Chicken Breast Chili

A flavorful chili that’s a little lighter with less fat.

White Bean Chicken Chili

A simple, hearty chili inspired by the flavors of old Mexico.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States