White Bean Chicken Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2014
Great recipe! We made a few changes, two cans of corn, two cans of beans, a tsp. of all the spices (except salt), maybe more.. and a whole de-boned rotisserie chicken. There was so much chicken it made the soup very thick so we added more chicken broth- hence more spices. We omitted the green chills because we didn't want it too spicy for kids.. and we did two cans of salsa verde instead of tomatillos. I would have let it simmer more if I had more time but I didn't and it still turned out great! Loved all the condiments…
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FAB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2014
Loved it. This is a great place to start. You can add some kick or chill out as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2014
This is absolutely delicious! I was looking for a way to use the fresh tomatillos growing in my garden and came across this recipe. Another site called for a pound of fresh tomatillo in place of an 11 oz of canned. I doubled the recipe and used 1 1/2 pounds of diced fresh tomatillos in place of the canned. I sautéed diced fresh chicken breast with the onions and garlic. Afterwards, I added the broth, spices, tomatoes and tomatillos just as instructed. I haven't made much with tomatillos and heard that they break down quickly, but mine were still firm- not mushy at all. Since my son will not touch green veggies in soup, I decided to fish out most of them and give them a whirl in my blender. When I added the resulting smooth mixture back to the soup, the blended tomatillos acted as a thickener. So... no cornstarch necessary! I used 2 cans of beans and fresh oregano growing wild in my yard. The soup turned out AMAZING and THICK!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stephoney
Home Town: Graham, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Susan
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2014
I combined suggestions from several recipes and I really loved it but because I was out of salsa, it wasn't as good as it could be. I will be sure not to run out again! I cooked my chicken as another did with celery seed, celery, garlic salt, and salt/pepper. I used some of this stock with one can broth. I used more diced tomatoes, two cans beans , diced red pepper with the onion, LOTS of cumin and chili powder, a dash of cilantro, and thickened with cornstarch. At serving, a must to top with shredded cheddar cheese, green onions, and sour cream. All in all it was delicious and if I had put salsa, I would say a 5!!.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2014
*****Very good and simple to throw together. Didn't use ground coriander, I didn't have it but the oregano gave it great flavor by itself. Used jarred salsa verde instead of tomitillas and used diced tomatoes w green chilies instead of plain diced tomatoes. Just enough spice to warm you up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2014
My family loves this recipe. I use fresh tomatillos , fresh cilantro, and fire roasted tomatoes. Wonderful meal!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2014
Awesome, awesome, awesome!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laurie Be

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2014
We loved this! I altered it a little according to some of the reviews I read, and others. I used a can of salsa verde instead of the tomatillos and added extra beans. I also used canned corn instead of fresh, and I also added fresh cilantro. I'm a wimp, but I didn't think this was too spicy, and my husband added some red pepper flakes to his for a little extra kick. I didn't think he would be too excited about a chicken chili, but he said multiple times that this was REALLY good chili. It's also pretty healthy, so I'm going to be making a big batch of it to use while I'm on a weight loss challenge this month. *** Update: I tried making it again, in the crockpot. DO NOT TRY TO MAKE IT IN THE CROCKPOT. I don't know if it was because I let the garlic stew too much or what, but it was NOT GOOD. I even tried draining the liquid off and redoing it on the stove, but it had soaked into the beans. Will try to try again, but on the stove this time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2014
Quick, easy, and delicious. I also used the salsa verde instead of tomatillos. So, so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2014
Excellent! Used leftover grilled chicken breasts. Didn't have tomatillos used two cans diced tomatoes instead. Added about five shakes of franks hot sauce and a Tbs of canned jalapeño juice. Threw in some extra herbs and spices. Great pantry recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 742) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

White Bean Chicken Breast Chili

A flavorful chili that’s a little lighter with less fat.

Spicy Chicken and White Bean Chili

See how to make a simple and delicious white bean chili.

White Bean Chicken Chili

A simple, hearty chili inspired by the flavors of old Mexico.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States