White Bean Chicken Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2013
Excellent recipe; I have also added a few different ingredients (even though this is great as is)I took from my other favorite chicken chili recipe,I add a block of "jalapeno pepper Monterrey Jack cheese" it's sold in a block. Slice it thin so it melts easier. Instead of the seasonings in this recipe, I use a packet of enchilada seasoning mix 1/2 package save the other half for your next chili batch.(of which there will be many of:) It has all of the spices that is called for in this recipe) Some use the full package; I think it's too much(my opinion)I also add 2 cans of rinsed black beans, adds to the taste and color. Instead of the tomatillos I also use just a regular jar of salsa. I toss everything into a crock pot for a couple of hours, when the cheese has melted it should be about done!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lesa Sheridan Buckley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wyoming, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2013
This was a HUGE hit with my husband and sons. I substituted a can of corn for the ears and salsa verde for the tomatillos. I also added 2 tablespoons cornstarch as recommended in another review. This definitely helped to thicken the chili. Finished it with a bit of white pepper and salt. I also mixed in some whole wheat rotini pasta....delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2013
It's amazing how much everyone can eat when they are eating this. It's easier to find fresh tomatillos here, so I dip them in olive oil and cover with salt and roast them prior to starting the chili. It makes a big difference if you have the time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Huff1371

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Stuarts Draft, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2013
Here is the easiest way to make this chili - Put desired number of chicken breasts (I use about 3) in slow cooker with enough chicken broth to keep it moist. When it's about 1/2 - 3/4 cooked, discard broth and shred or cube chicken. Add: 1 can diced tomatoes, 1 can white chili beans, 1 jar salsa verde, throw in as much frozen corn as you like, and you're done. The salsa verde takes care of all the seasoning, tomatillos and green chilis. Just be careful to buy mild or medium salsa verde. Too hot and your tongue will be on fire. I also put in a corn starch/water rue to thicken the base.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2013
This a great way to use the leftover rotisserie chicken. Plus it is delicious. I also added a jar of salsa verde, a can of corn, and thickened with corn tortillas. I froze half of this and a week later it was still sooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rialto, California, USA
Living In: Bullhead City, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2013
My husband and I thought that this chili was delicious! I used 3 fresh tomatoes (peeled & diced) and 6 fresh tomatillos (lightly roasted & diced). I also used dried pinto beans and great northern beans that I soaked overnight and cooked while I prepped the veggies. I omitted the green chiles as I was afraid that it would make the dish too spicy for my five-year old. Lastly, I used ground turkey instead of chicken. I am very happy with this recipe and will be keeping it on regular rotation in my dinner repertoire as it is delicious and quite healthy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carson's Mommy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2013
This family loves this recipe. I have never left a comment for any recipe but this one was worth my time. I had to substitute the Tomatillo cans since I could not find any where I live. I was able to find Tomatillo Salsa. I used a jar of 430ml and it was great. We cook on Sunday's for the week and my daughter came over and took some with her for lunch. She did not taste it till she consumed it for lunch. I received a text telling me how good this was. I gave this recipe 5 stars since we have made this recipe over and over again. Thanks Thea for this wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2013
This was awesome! I had about a pound of dry canellini beans that I had been soaking overnight and needed a recipe so I tried this. Otherwise, I pretty much went with the recipe as written, except that I added a 2nd can of chicken broth and added some ground cayenne pepper, and used fresh tomatillos as our local grocery doesn't carry canned. Of course, since I was using soaked beans, I cooked it longer. SCRUMPTIOUS! It was nice and thick and satisfying. Very healthy too. I actually forgot to put in the corn, but I didn't miss it. I'll try to get it in next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2013
Prepped everything the night before. When dicing onions and chopping garlic ahead of time, remember to roll them in paper towels and wring out if necessary before putting them to oil in the dutch oven. From start to finish when pre-prepped, 30 minutes for well simmered, well blended, wonderful aroma chili! My husband is ecstatic and so am I. Even better a day later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2013
I'm giving this only 4 as it was written. I found it to be a little bland for my taste, so I added about 2 tbsp of chili powder, extra garlic and cumin, 2 minced jalapenos, 1 chopped poblano (roasted and skinned), and some fresh cilantro. Like a lot of other reviewers, I used a jar of salsa verde in place of the tomatillos. Also, I used a 28 oz can of chopped tomatoes. This is a wonderful base recipe for tweeking to your own taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 761) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

White Bean Chicken Breast Chili

A flavorful chili that’s a little lighter with less fat.

Spicy Chicken and White Bean Chili

See how to make a simple and delicious white bean chili.

White Bean Chicken Chili

A simple, hearty chili inspired by the flavors of old Mexico.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States