White Bean Chicken Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
Loved this chili!!! I doctored it up as well. Used all of the suggestions: added corn starch, substituted wit salsa verde and added a jalapeño. I cooked the chicken in the oven first, threw everything in crock pot. Added 1 tablespoon of brown sugar, sautéed Mushrooms and zucchini at end and topped it with sour cream cheddar cheese and fresh avocado. Best chili I've ever had. My husband had 3 bowls!!'
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2014
Yummy and easy! I used fire roasted diced tomatoes and mild Rotel diced tomatoes with green chilies instead of the tomatillos. I used canned corn and 2 cans of white beans with about a pound and a half of rotisserie chicken chopped up. I thickened the chili with a tablespoon and a half of arrowroot . garnishes are sour cream ,cheddar cheese, chopped onion, salsa and maybe a side of corn bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cecilia
Home Town: Kent, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2014
Delicious dinner after a cold day! I found this on a whim, while shopping in the grocery store, and wish I would've read the reviews, because it definitely could have used 1 more can of beans. I also substituted salsa verde (couldn't find tomatillos) and the flavor was great. Will make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
Taste great. Helpful hints for those who want to try this. If you got no chicken buy the cold rotisserie at your local grocery store. It's already cooked and near the deli dept. The other reviews gives you the rest of great examples and garnishes. So no excuses about left over chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
I was disappointed with this recipe. It was just okay. I've had better white chicken chili in the past.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JANEYMAY
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
Made this for Halloween meal to serve adults while kids had a party in the basement. It was lovely. I couldn't find canned tomatillos so I used fresh and sautéed them with the onions and garlic to soften them. I like a thicker soup so at the end I put some extra northern beans in the food processor with a little soup broth and added to to the soup. I served the chili with extras on the side for each person to customize their dish: Fresh cilantro, corn chips and sour cream. It was fun and delicious. We had wine and salad and crusty bread to! YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2014
Great simple recipe! I also substituted salsa verde for the tomatillos, and even if you don't like salsa verde on its own, it adds a nice flavor to the recipe. I also use fresh ingredients where I can, so I used fresh oregano and added fresh cilantro to the mix. Remember that everything is open to interpretation, and you can substitute different things to accommodate your own personal taste. That's what cooking has always been about for me. A recipe is one persons suggestion, and you add and subtract as you like. Love this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2014
This is a great recipe with a few slight tweaks. I couldn't find canned tomatillos so I bought a tomatillo salsa instead. I used a bag of frozen corn instead of the fresh. I also stir in a container (16 oz.) of sour cream at the end. One last thing I do is add a Tbsp. of brown sugar. It seems weird - but it really works! The brown sugar balances the spicy flavor and gives it depth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Krbinggeli

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Coshocton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2014
This was a very easy and good recipe! I made it for friends and everyone loved it! I did make a few alterations! I was not able to add tomatillos due to being unable to find any. I enjoy spicy so I also added some chili powder. I like my chili with a little more tomato base and a bit thicker so I also added some tomato paste, flower, and sugar! It was my first time making chili and I will def be making this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2014
Used green salsa instead of canned tomatillos as other reviews suggested. Chili had a tangy sweet flavor to it that I did not care for. Was ok but most likely will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 742) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

White Bean Chicken Breast Chili

A flavorful chili that’s a little lighter with less fat.

Spicy Chicken and White Bean Chili

See how to make a simple and delicious white bean chili.

White Bean Chicken Chili

A simple, hearty chili inspired by the flavors of old Mexico.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States