White Bean Chicken Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2014
I have made this recipe for every Superbowl Party I've held for the last 3-4 years. It is a huge hit! I add canned Chipotle peppers or Chipotle hot sauce (not too much, however), a little white wine, frozen corn, and I grill the chicken first. I pre-make it on the stove and then day of, put it in the crockpot, add the corn, chicken and beans, and cook it on slow for 4 hours to absorb all the flavors! I also use plain Greek yogurt instead of sour cream---gives it a decidedly different "kick"!!! One of the best recipes I've ever found online!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SLCPaladin
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2014
This recipe is to die for! I've made this dish twice and both times it's been a hit. I usually get a package of frozen corn steamers and use that instead of fresh corn as I make this in the winter and fresh corn isn't really available. Also, I up the amount of chicken so the chili is a bit higher in protein. One hint: tomatillos are sometimes found in the Mexican/Latino section of the grocery store. I've used the brand "La Costena" and "Embasa" and both brands have worked well in this dish. If you can't find whole tomatillos, then search for salsa verde. However, I would make sure that the ingredients in the salsa verde is mostly tomatillos (some brands add a lot of other stuff to their salsa verde). Lastly, we think Tostitos Hint of Lime chips pairs well with this dish along with sour cream, cheddar cheese, cilantro, avocado, and fresh lime juice. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLCPaladin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: South Jordan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2014
An instant family favorite, even my picky 4 year old licked the bowl clean. My adjustments: 2 17 ounce cans of tomatoes with chilis, a few dashes of tapatia hot sauce, a lot more cumin ( other rater's suggestion), and 2 cans of white beans. Will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by T Youngblood

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2014
I really like this recipe. The flavor is good, without making much in the way of adjustments, other than just for ease. For example, I used a larger chicken breast because I just used the whole thing. Several of the ingredients didn't come in the amounts called for, so I just got as close as possible and went with it. Great chili, and super healthy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CourtneyLiz
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
Added a bit more broth than called for, and used leftover turkey the day after Thanksgiving. I would like a little more heat, so will probably add some jalapeños or chili powder the next time. Still great, though! Devoured by picky hubby and 2 year old alike!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
Loved this chili!!! I doctored it up as well. Used all of the suggestions: added corn starch, substituted wit salsa verde and added a jalapeño. I cooked the chicken in the oven first, threw everything in crock pot. Added 1 tablespoon of brown sugar, sautéed Mushrooms and zucchini at end and topped it with sour cream cheddar cheese and fresh avocado. Best chili I've ever had. My husband had 3 bowls!!'
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2014
Yummy and easy! I used fire roasted diced tomatoes and mild Rotel diced tomatoes with green chilies instead of the tomatillos. I used canned corn and 2 cans of white beans with about a pound and a half of rotisserie chicken chopped up. I thickened the chili with a tablespoon and a half of arrowroot . garnishes are sour cream ,cheddar cheese, chopped onion, salsa and maybe a side of corn bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cecilia
Home Town: Kent, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2014
Delicious dinner after a cold day! I found this on a whim, while shopping in the grocery store, and wish I would've read the reviews, because it definitely could have used 1 more can of beans. I also substituted salsa verde (couldn't find tomatillos) and the flavor was great. Will make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
Taste great. Helpful hints for those who want to try this. If you got no chicken buy the cold rotisserie at your local grocery store. It's already cooked and near the deli dept. The other reviews gives you the rest of great examples and garnishes. So no excuses about left over chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
I was disappointed with this recipe. It was just okay. I've had better white chicken chili in the past.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 747) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

White Bean Chicken Breast Chili

A flavorful chili that’s a little lighter with less fat.

Spicy Chicken and White Bean Chili

See how to make a simple and delicious white bean chili.

White Bean Chicken Chili

A simple, hearty chili inspired by the flavors of old Mexico.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States