White Bean Chicken Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Susan
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2014
I combined suggestions from several recipes and I really loved it but because I was out of salsa, it wasn't as good as it could be. I will be sure not to run out again! I cooked my chicken as another did with celery seed, celery, garlic salt, and salt/pepper. I used some of this stock with one can broth. I used more diced tomatoes, two cans beans , diced red pepper with the onion, LOTS of cumin and chili powder, a dash of cilantro, and thickened with cornstarch. At serving, a must to top with shredded cheddar cheese, green onions, and sour cream. All in all it was delicious and if I had put salsa, I would say a 5!!.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2014
*****Very good and simple to throw together. Didn't use ground coriander, I didn't have it but the oregano gave it great flavor by itself. Used jarred salsa verde instead of tomitillas and used diced tomatoes w green chilies instead of plain diced tomatoes. Just enough spice to warm you up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2014
My family loves this recipe. I use fresh tomatillos , fresh cilantro, and fire roasted tomatoes. Wonderful meal!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2014
Awesome, awesome, awesome!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laurie Be

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2014
We loved this! I altered it a little according to some of the reviews I read, and others. I used a can of salsa verde instead of the tomatillos and added extra beans. I also used canned corn instead of fresh, and I also added fresh cilantro. I'm a wimp, but I didn't think this was too spicy, and my husband added some red pepper flakes to his for a little extra kick. I didn't think he would be too excited about a chicken chili, but he said multiple times that this was REALLY good chili. It's also pretty healthy, so I'm going to be making a big batch of it to use while I'm on a weight loss challenge this month. *** Update: I tried making it again, in the crockpot. DO NOT TRY TO MAKE IT IN THE CROCKPOT. I don't know if it was because I let the garlic stew too much or what, but it was NOT GOOD. I even tried draining the liquid off and redoing it on the stove, but it had soaked into the beans. Will try to try again, but on the stove this time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2014
Delicious. I used salsa verde and added jalapeños and cornstarch. Quick and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2014
Excellent! Used leftover grilled chicken breasts. Didn't have tomatillos used two cans diced tomatoes instead. Added about five shakes of franks hot sauce and a Tbs of canned jalapeño juice. Threw in some extra herbs and spices. Great pantry recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2014
Great recipe! It was tasty, healthy and relatively inexpensive to make. I like many others used Salsa Verde in place of the tomatillos. I also added more beans than the recipe called for, but only about a half a can. I also simmered for about 40 mins or so on low. If you're in a rush then 10 mins is fine I'm sure, but the longer you simmer the more the flavors will marry and it will also thicken up a little ( I saw a few reviews that either added cornstarch or complained that is too thin. It is more like a stew than a chili). This will be a staple dinner in our house from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2014
This dish is very tasty and easy to make. But it's more of a soup then a chili. I followed the recipe. I would make it again...also great for a side soup/dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2014
I made this recipe almost exactly to instructions. I did add the 2T. cornstarch that others suggested. I mixed 2T. of cornstarch with a little of the chicken broth to make a slurry. I warmed the chili and right before boiling added the cornstarch slurry. I also used grilled chicken right from my grocery store that I chopped up to save time. I was concerned about whether to drain and rinse the canned beans as normally I do, but the recipe did not call for it. I eventually decided to drain them but not rinse. I followed the rest of the recipe exactly and my husband and I loved it! I can't wait to make this for a football party in the fall.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 709) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Chicken and White Bean Chili

See how to make a simple and delicious white bean chili.

White Bean Chicken Breast Chili

A flavorful chili that’s a little lighter with less fat.

White Bean Chicken Chili

A simple, hearty chili inspired by the flavors of old Mexico.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States