White Bean Chicken Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 7, 2015
This was delicious. Doubled the recipe, only substitution was "My Brother's Salsa Tomatillo" from Walmart because I couldn't find canned tomatillos. I used one 16 oz. jar for my doubled recipe and it added plenty of flavor. I did squeeze in the juice of one lime. I recommend the addition of lime juice; it really gave it some zing. I also seasoned my chicken heavily when I poached it. This was taken to a chili potluck.. I made it on the stove the day before, simmered for about an hour and a half, and added 2 teaspoons of cornstarch dissolved in half a cup of cold water to thicken it a little. Transferred to slow cooker to take to the potluck. Everyone must have liked it because it was the first one to go.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2015
Excellent I used two cans of beans andashed about 1/4-1/3 of them to make the stew thicker. Added chopped avacado, chopped cilantro and a squeeze fresh lime juice when serving, would be good with tofu too
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2015
This is a serious major delicious bean soup! In place of the tomatillos I used a 14oz bottle of salsa verde because my store didn't carry tomatillos. I added 2 cans of drained white beans instead of 1 can, because I love beans. The extra beans and the salsa verde made it a perfect thickness so there was no need to add any cornstarch. I replaced the fresh corn with half a bag of frozen corn for convenience. By mistakes I bought a 7oz can of whole green chillis, instead of chopped green chillis. Now I am glad I did because I chopped them myself and the texture was oustanding. Even though I picked the mild green chillis, it still gave the soup some nice spicey heat. With that I suggest you do not get hot ones unless you are a seasoned, conditioned spicey food connesseur. I didn't have left over chicken, so i cubed 2 chicken breasts, lightly spiced it with all the spices in the recipe then sauteed it. I removed it from my cast iron pot, then started the cooking part following the recipe's instructions. Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leialohadm

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2015
Very good! I stuck with the seasonings and proportions, I only modified based on ingredients I had on hand. I used 1 jar of verde salsa instead of tomatillos and a can of diced tomatoes that contained chiles. Delicious, great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2015
I used the basic ingredients threw it in the crock pot for about 5 hours and it came out perfect!! Made my own broth and used all fresh ingredients except the beans. Delish!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2015
Awesome and easy to make. Modifications- shredded the chicken vs cubing, one can cannelinni beans, crushed tomatoes with one can Rotello, used a potato mashed to break up some of the beans, added one TBSP chili powder. Healthy alternative and tastes great- worth trying!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alpha Zulu
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2015
This recipe is amazing. My boyfriend didn't think it was going to be good but definitely change his mind after trying it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2015
Very good. Followed directions; using who tomatillos, broken up and about 1/2 cup of salsa verde. No thickening agent. Served over cornbread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2015
Great recipe! Since I'm new at cooking, I didn't use the tomatillos or coriander seed because I didn't know what they were; it turned out fine! (I have since looked both ingredients up and am prepared for my next meal that calls for these!) I also used 1 can of corn kernels instead of fresh ears of corn, 1 can of Rotel instead of the diced tomatoes and then the diced green chilies, and used 1 can of the white chili beans instead of plain white beans. It was fabulous! I have shared this recipe with many of my co-workers, plus my fiancé absolutely loved it! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2015
We loved it!! Substituted based on reviewers remarks - salsa verde and tomatoes with chills for
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 767) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

White Bean Chicken Breast Chili

A flavorful chili that’s a little lighter with less fat.

Spicy Chicken and White Bean Chili

See how to make a simple and delicious white bean chili.

White Bean Chicken Chili

A simple, hearty chili inspired by the flavors of old Mexico.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States