White Barbecue Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2014
I made this recipe exactly. And well, let's say I haven't made anything in a little while that got quite the same mmm noises as this did. I will definitely make more! I roasted chicken with this sauce. I also made garden stuffed baked potatoes and used this sauce in the filling and on top. Worked wonderfully. Thank you for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mommymeggy
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2008
Following the directions "as-is" yields a very thin sauce. Since I was planning to use this as a topping to turkey meatloaf, I thickened the mixture up on the stove: I dissolved 2 T flour in 1/4 c milk, then slowly whisked into the sauce at a boil. It worked well, really had great flavor, and wasn't overpowering as I feared it might be.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommymeggy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2002
I really like this versatile sauce. I've used it with chicken as well as on sandwiches and hamburgers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2000
This sauce was very popular in Alabama. A well known restaurant used it on chicken, and then used the chicken shredded in stuffed baked potatoes! They also served extra sauce on the side to put on top of the baked potatoes.(I used plain vinegar in place of cider vinegar, and marinated the chicken for several hours and then basted the chicken on the grill.)For a quick sandwich or stuffed potato topping put cooked shredded chicken and sauce in a pan,cover and cook down till sauce is almost evaporated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2005
This was really good stuff! It is very simple. My ten year old wasn't going to try any, because he thought it looked weird. But I grilled pork chops, and it was quite tasty. I figured he would like it, because he likes sweet and sour. It just sounded strange. I may substitute olive oil for the mayonnaise next time to make it a little healthier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracy L. Anderson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Antioch, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by crunchy
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2009
I was skeptical to try this at first, it didn't look very appealing, but I decided to give it a try- and it was good! I gave it 4 stars only because it doesn't smell good, but it TASTES good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crunchy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Syracuse, New York, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2012
I'm from Alabama. Have to say this is a wonderful sauce. Will make over and over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by acdcbama
Living In: Lexington, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2008
I liked this sauce. I used rice vinegar instead and it was nice. I also heated it up and added a little cornstarch to thicken it up. I had it with meatballs and egg noodles. Yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2004
The vinegar was way too much; that's all you taste. I added more mayo (next time I'll reduce vinegar to 1/4 c) and seasonings (seasoning salt, Montreal Chicken seasoning, garlic powder).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Farmville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2005
very different type of sauce. My whole family liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Secret BBQ Sauce

The secret’s out! Here’s the recipe for our classic barbeque sauce—revealed!

Kathy's Award Winning Barbeque Sauce

See how to make thick, spicy, blue-ribbon BBQ sauce.

Bourbon Whiskey BBQ Sauce

Kentucky bourbon leads a saucy cast of tangy, spicy, and sweet ingredients.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States