White Barbecue Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2000
This sauce was very popular in Alabama. A well known restaurant used it on chicken, and then used the chicken shredded in stuffed baked potatoes! They also served extra sauce on the side to put on top of the baked potatoes.(I used plain vinegar in place of cider vinegar, and marinated the chicken for several hours and then basted the chicken on the grill.)For a quick sandwich or stuffed potato topping put cooked shredded chicken and sauce in a pan,cover and cook down till sauce is almost evaporated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2003
I've tried many recipes from this site and were pleased at the results, however this recipe was awful. I followed the recipe to a tee and used it on chicken breasts but the taste was terrible. The taste of the vinegar was way too strong. I will not be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mommymeggy
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2008
Following the directions "as-is" yields a very thin sauce. Since I was planning to use this as a topping to turkey meatloaf, I thickened the mixture up on the stove: I dissolved 2 T flour in 1/4 c milk, then slowly whisked into the sauce at a boil. It worked well, really had great flavor, and wasn't overpowering as I feared it might be.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommymeggy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2011
I did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2002
I really like this versatile sauce. I've used it with chicken as well as on sandwiches and hamburgers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by McBacon
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2009
I was skeptical to try this at first, it didn't look very appealing, but I decided to give it a try- and it was good! I gave it 4 stars only because it doesn't smell good, but it TASTES good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
I followed this recipe exact, but nobody wanted it. My brother in law tried a very little but would not go near it again and said it was bland. Nobody else would try it. I'm disappointed. :o(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2008
I am from Alabama. This recipe wasn't good too much vinegar. Too watery. Just not that good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2004
The vinegar was way too much; that's all you taste. I added more mayo (next time I'll reduce vinegar to 1/4 c) and seasonings (seasoning salt, Montreal Chicken seasoning, garlic powder).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Farmville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2008
I liked this sauce. I used rice vinegar instead and it was nice. I also heated it up and added a little cornstarch to thicken it up. I had it with meatballs and egg noodles. Yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Secret BBQ Sauce

The secret’s out! Here’s the recipe for our classic barbeque sauce—revealed!

Kathy's Award Winning Barbeque Sauce

See how to make thick, spicy, blue-ribbon BBQ sauce.

Bar-B-Que Sauce

The perfect BBQ sauce recipe, ready to make right at home.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States