White Barbecue Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2000
This sauce was very popular in Alabama. A well known restaurant used it on chicken, and then used the chicken shredded in stuffed baked potatoes! They also served extra sauce on the side to put on top of the baked potatoes.(I used plain vinegar in place of cider vinegar, and marinated the chicken for several hours and then basted the chicken on the grill.)For a quick sandwich or stuffed potato topping put cooked shredded chicken and sauce in a pan,cover and cook down till sauce is almost evaporated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2002
I really like this versatile sauce. I've used it with chicken as well as on sandwiches and hamburgers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2003
I've tried many recipes from this site and were pleased at the results, however this recipe was awful. I followed the recipe to a tee and used it on chicken breasts but the taste was terrible. The taste of the vinegar was way too strong. I will not be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2004
The vinegar was way too much; that's all you taste. I added more mayo (next time I'll reduce vinegar to 1/4 c) and seasonings (seasoning salt, Montreal Chicken seasoning, garlic powder).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Farmville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2005
I hate to say that this recipe was awful. I'm from Alabama and love white sauce on grilled chicken, but this just wasn't good. Way too much vinegar....way to thin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2005
This was really good stuff! It is very simple. My ten year old wasn't going to try any, because he thought it looked weird. But I grilled pork chops, and it was quite tasty. I figured he would like it, because he likes sweet and sour. It just sounded strange. I may substitute olive oil for the mayonnaise next time to make it a little healthier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracy L. Anderson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Antioch, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2005
very different type of sauce. My whole family liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2007
I'm sorry to say this is not good, I can't serve food with this on it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richland, Washington, USA
Living In: Kennewick, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2008
I tried this recipe last night to a tee cause I've always wanted to try white bbq sauce, anyways, the sause came out really watery and runny, but I tried it on two chicken breast and baked it at 350. The chicken came out really moist, but the taste was bland and there was no real bbq flavor! I was very dissapointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2008
I am from Alabama. This recipe wasn't good too much vinegar. Too watery. Just not that good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Secret BBQ Sauce

The secret’s out! Here’s the recipe for our classic barbeque sauce—revealed!

Kathy's Award Winning Barbeque Sauce

See how to make thick, spicy, blue-ribbon BBQ sauce.

Bourbon Whiskey BBQ Sauce

Kentucky bourbon leads a saucy cast of tangy, spicy, and sweet ingredients.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States