White BBQ Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2006
I am from Decatur, Al where this recipe originated from. The original recipe is to use miracle whip instead of the mayo, and leave out the sugar. Be sure to put in lots of black pepper too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BamaSusanna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Decatur, Alabama, USA
Living In: Macon, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2006
This sauce is great! Not only is it a great BBQ sauce, it's wonderful on baked potatoes, as a dipping sauce for fresh veggies, and it's also good as a dipping sauce for steaks and chicken!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2005
This "white sauce" was made famous at Big Bob Gibson's BBQ in North Alabama. Several things are left out in this recipe such as horseradish and apple cider vinegar. Let it sit for a few hours to overnight and it really melds the taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
75 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Auburn, Alabama, USA
Living In: Pearland, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2000
I have eaten this sauce only in select BBQ restaurants in North Alabama. We don't live there anymore and can't find white BBQ anywhere! This is a wonderful taste of home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2004
Great, I Loved It. I added Some Red Pepper Flakes To Make it a little hotter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PCJHARVEY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Fox Lake, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2000
This barbecue sauce is absolutely fabulous! The taste is fantastic and unusual!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2001
This became an instant staple in my refrigerator! Everyone loved it, especially my daughter! I keep it in a fliptop bottle so I can use it at the grill and the table without worrying about contamination. Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2001
My daughter has to have a glutten free diet. I was having a tough time finding a BBQ suace that would work with her diet till I came across this. I was very tasteful and a change from the tomatoe based sauces. I think this would be great on alot of other meats too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2001
great recipe! Serve on the side after grilling meat. I used boneless skinless chicken breast and they turned out moist and tender,I will use this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2006
This sauce is incredible.. the trick is to make it up..put it in the fridge and dont touch it for at least 24 to 36 hours..it takes that long for the flavors to mingle..if you taste it too early it is awful and too sweet. I did make it with 4 packages of splenda instead of sugar..I found that I like making a bowl of salad, adding a pile of bbq brisket on top, and using this as the salad dressing also
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Carolina-Style BBQ Sauce

See how to make tangy Carolina-style barbeque sauce.

Lemon Caper Butter Sauce

See how to make a simple, classic French butter sauce with lemon and capers.

Tangerine Cherry Cranberry Sauce

See how to make a classic holiday cranberry sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States