White BBQ Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2005
This "white sauce" was made famous at Big Bob Gibson's BBQ in North Alabama. Several things are left out in this recipe such as horseradish and apple cider vinegar. Let it sit for a few hours to overnight and it really melds the taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
72 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Auburn, Alabama, USA
Living In: Pearland, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2006
I am from Decatur, Al where this recipe originated from. The original recipe is to use miracle whip instead of the mayo, and leave out the sugar. Be sure to put in lots of black pepper too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BamaSusanna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Decatur, Alabama, USA
Living In: Macon, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2000
I have eaten this sauce only in select BBQ restaurants in North Alabama. We don't live there anymore and can't find white BBQ anywhere! This is a wonderful taste of home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2006
This sauce is incredible.. the trick is to make it up..put it in the fridge and dont touch it for at least 24 to 36 hours..it takes that long for the flavors to mingle..if you taste it too early it is awful and too sweet. I did make it with 4 packages of splenda instead of sugar..I found that I like making a bowl of salad, adding a pile of bbq brisket on top, and using this as the salad dressing also
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2010
Excellent - I've never had a mayo based BBQ sauce before but wanted to try some and am glad I did - I would cut down on the pepper a bit but other than that very good and worth trying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2007
if you like to bbq this is a fantastic sauce, thanks to other reviewers i added extra black pepper and horseradish to it, used it on bbq chicken the first night then with smoked catfish the next night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Covington, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2006
This sauce is great! Not only is it a great BBQ sauce, it's wonderful on baked potatoes, as a dipping sauce for fresh veggies, and it's also good as a dipping sauce for steaks and chicken!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2008
Steam some chunks of redskinned potatoes, then marinate them in this sauce for several hours or overnight. Thread on skewers and grill until warm and browned. Great with any meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2012
I've never had the original in Alabama. All I can say is, as a lover of BBQ sauce, this is really unique and good. It's a new staple in my BBQ sauce rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mcdonough, Georgia, USA
Living In: Douglas, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2007
This turned out very, very good. The dipping part the family wasn't into but once it hit the meat and the flavors melded it was exceptional. I left mine in the fridge overnight before using.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Kenmore, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Carolina-Style BBQ Sauce

See how to make tangy Carolina-style barbeque sauce.

Lemon Caper Butter Sauce

See how to make a simple, classic French butter sauce with lemon and capers.

Baked Lemon Chicken with Mushroom Sauce

See how to make lemony chicken served with a savory mushroom sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States