White BBQ Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2006
Yessss!!! This stuff is AWESOME! It's great also used as a dipping sauce, that's the way I love to use it. It's great with chicken or turkey. Thanks sooooo much for submitting this recipe. I live in North Alabama and this sauce is 'famous' here. :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2006
I am from Decatur, Al where this recipe originated from. The original recipe is to use miracle whip instead of the mayo, and leave out the sugar. Be sure to put in lots of black pepper too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BamaSusanna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Decatur, Alabama, USA
Living In: Macon, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2006
This sauce is great! Not only is it a great BBQ sauce, it's wonderful on baked potatoes, as a dipping sauce for fresh veggies, and it's also good as a dipping sauce for steaks and chicken!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2006
This sauce is incredible.. the trick is to make it up..put it in the fridge and dont touch it for at least 24 to 36 hours..it takes that long for the flavors to mingle..if you taste it too early it is awful and too sweet. I did make it with 4 packages of splenda instead of sugar..I found that I like making a bowl of salad, adding a pile of bbq brisket on top, and using this as the salad dressing also
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2005
This "white sauce" was made famous at Big Bob Gibson's BBQ in North Alabama. Several things are left out in this recipe such as horseradish and apple cider vinegar. Let it sit for a few hours to overnight and it really melds the taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
73 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Auburn, Alabama, USA
Living In: Pearland, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2005
I liked this one! I decided to try it after seeing a similar recipe on the Food Network. It was different, but in a good way; I scaled it way down just in case I didn't like it (hate to waste ingredients) I think that the next time I make it I will add a little more spice to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily M.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Upland, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2005
Even though I am an Alabamian, I grew up with a family bbq sauce recipe that is very much like a Carolina sauce. So, I had no problem with the vinegary taste in the sauce. I am very particular about my bbq. I dont eat bbq unless it is cooked by my pop, myself or a local bbq joint called Hot Tin Roof (they have a Carolina sauce close to ours). Having said that, I liked this sauce. It was heavy enough to hold on to the meat and has a good flavor. I prefer my own red Carolina version but this is a good change up. Not as good as the white sauce at Hot Tin Roof but they aren't sharing theirs :( My family really enjoyed this sauce as well. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SPEARFISHER

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Demopolis, Alabama, USA
Living In: Gulf Shores, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2004
Great for dipping grilled or smoked chicken!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2004
I love mayo but this tasted just awful. Too much salt and pepper and nothing I would eat on anything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2004
I'm sorry to say I was disappointed with this. It was runny (even though I used regular mayo) and tasted too strong of vinegar, with a hint of mayonnaise. When I dipped the barbecued chicken in it I could hardly even taste it. I won't be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amydoll

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Carolina-Style BBQ Sauce

See how to make tangy Carolina-style barbeque sauce.

Lemon Caper Butter Sauce

See how to make a simple, classic French butter sauce with lemon and capers.

Baked Lemon Chicken with Mushroom Sauce

See how to make lemony chicken served with a savory mushroom sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States