White Almond Wedding Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2009
This is a GREAT cake that originates from Rebecca Sutterby and as short is called the WASC. I recommend it to all. You can easily change out the white cake mix and almond flavoring and flavor it to your liking (Lemon cake mix w/ vanilla flavoring.. etc.). I also use flavored coffee creamer (liquid version) opposed to water and sometimes yogurt instead of sour cream (in coordinating flavor). I also add 1/2 a packet of pudding mix to make it super moist(instant, dry). Also it does NOT matter if the cake mix already 'has pudding' in it. That is simply a marketing technique. I prefer BC white cake mix, but yellow I prefer DH. Make sure you sift both. The resulting cake will be pretty dense (and SUPER MOIST) in comparison to a typical box cake(it's supposed to be a hybrid scratch cake)and sturdy enough to hold fondant. If you are carving the cake, omit the pudding packet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
580 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alexandra Bill

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hollywood, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2009
Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2009
YUM!!! This is so good. Light, fluffy, moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olathe, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2009
I did not like the crumb of this cake, at all, it is way too fine, almost like a dense angel food cake, but very flmsy and falling apart. I have been baking for over 50 years, so I know I little. This sounded so good! I did as one reviewer said and added 1/2 package of instant pudding, that may have been a mistake. I will try it again sometime with no pudding, it may have been a mistake on my part since many cake mixes already have some sort of pudding in them to make them moist. Perhaps the brand of cake mix makes a difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2009
I thought this cake was great! I made it for my dad's birthday and while my mom did comment it was a little too dense, everyone else loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Missoula, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2009
My daughter is getting married in Oct.I'm making the cake for their reception so I made some small samples of different cakes, this is the one she picked. Everyone loved this cake. Simply the best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
121 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2009
This is an excellent recipe. It's moist and flavourful. I doubled the recipe to make one 6"x3" and one 10"x3" layer for two tiered wedding cake. I filled the bottom with lemon curd and the top with raspberry jam and they both tasted awesome. It holds up well to fondant too. Everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
91 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Ajax, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2009
sounds wonderful! must try! i was wondering could i use meringue powdwer instead of the egg whites? and how much?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2009
This cake is perfection! I have made a lot of cakes and this one really hits the spot. You must try this to believe how good it is. I made this for my husband's 30th birthday party and everyone loved it. This is way better than some of the cakes I've ordered from bakeries. Definitely try this and follow exactly, I wouldn't add anything. I frosted with a simple vanilla almond buttercream icing, 3 c. confectionary sugar, 1/3 c. butter, 1 tsp vanilla, 1/2 tsp. almond extract and 1-2 Tbsp. milk. Make sure to read the recipe correctly to use the right size pan. I read too fast and used a 7x11 inch pan and it came out perfectly but very high and took forever to bake at 325. I think a 9x13 would be fine also. thank you CUPYCAKESMURF!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
184 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heidi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lebanon, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Jonestown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2009
I bake a lot of cakes, and this one turned out great. A nice twist to a traditional box cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 460) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Heavenly White Cake

See how to make a wonderful white cake from scratch.

Simple White Cake

See how to make a simple white cake that’s perfect for layer cakes and cupcakes.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States