White Almond Wedding Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2013
Love the recipe! I made this cake twice in two days. The first cake was the original recipe and it came out perfect, I did bake it for 45 min. I. Had to try this base with chocolate cake mix, and I used devils food DH brand, and I used 3/4 C. Flour and 1/4 cup of cocoa . It baked beautifully..awesome flavor!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2013
This is THE BEST. Seriously my weakness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Scottsbluff, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2013
I haven't tried this particular recipe with sour cream but we love almond flavored cake.I always made mine with a boxed plain white cake mix made according to the directions then added vanilla and almond extract and frosted it with chocolate butter cream frosting. It would never last in the house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by britt
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2013
I made a 4 tier wedding cake with this recipe using Duncan Hines 16.5 oz white cake mix (4 boxes). I froze the layers 3 days prior; heavily wrapped in plastic wrap, then foil. They were stacked, dowelled, and frosted right out of the freezer a few hours before the wedding (and decorated with my pre-made frozen buttercream flowers). I transported the ready cake one hour to it's destination; where it was cut shortly after. Guests from across the floor were giving me two 'thumbs up', they were going up for seconds and some thirds. Many asked for the recipe and told me it was "the best cake" they had "ever tasted". This is the first wedding cake I've made and will never use another recipe. It's a major ego-booster :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2013
I recently made his cake for my daughter's graduation party, and everyone loved it! Since I needed to make a sheet cake, I did alter the recipe just a little so it would raise appropriately. I added a teaspoon of baking soda into the sour cream, and let it expand a bit, then just gently folded in the baking soda-sour cream mixture last, after all other ingredients were mixed. I also added one extra teaspoon of vanilla and eliminated the almond extract. This cake was super moist and delicious! I frosted it with a simple whipped butter cream frosting smoothed flat so that I could decorate it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Kay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bogue, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2013
What a life saver! Great crumb/density, stayed moist, fabulous flavor and better yet... EASY!!! YUM!!!! Definitely keeping this one as a standby! Made some slight changes: 1) used 1/2 tsp almond extract--which was perfect for me 2) added 1/3 cp sprinkles and made it a funfetti cake! 3) baked in 2 9" rounds for ~35", rotating 1x about 15" into the baking time 4) frosted with a vanilla Swiss Meringue Buttercream PERFECT! You wont' be sorry if you give this one a try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jan
Reviewed: May 23, 2013
Originally made this recipe as-is for cupcakes (found the recipe on another site)...were gummy because of overfilling cupcake liners and under-cooking. Tried this again as a layer cake with these changes and found the cake simply delicious. Here are my changes: Pillsbury's white cake containing pudding (18.25 oz); (2) 8-inch layers at 325 degrees for approximately 47 minutes; 3 whole eggs instead of 4 egg whites; I used 1 teaspoon vanilla extract, 1 ½ teaspoons almond extract, and 1 teaspoon of buttery sweet dough emulsion (found at King Arthur flour website); Used milk instead of water; Filled inner layer with Smuckers Strawberry Sundae Topping (small amount), then with frosting (copycat of Publix buttercream); Frosted outside of cake with Publix buttercream...very rich icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2013
I used this recipe for my birthday cake. I used Chobani plain 0% instead of sour cream (no one in my family likes sour cream in a cake), all almond extract, and added a packet of instant vanilla pudding. I made a 4 layer (2 8 inch rounds) and filled and topped it will a simple almond buttercream. Everyone loved it! This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Babygirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Holland, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2013
Can you possibly add sprinkles to this cake to make it a "funfetti" cake for a children's birthday cake?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2013
I used this for my wedding cake and everyone at the party said it was the best wedding cake they had ever had! Yummy and a great texture too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 449) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Heavenly White Cake

See how to make a wonderful white cake from scratch.

Simple White Cake

See how to make a simple white cake that’s perfect for layer cakes and cupcakes.

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States