White Almond Wedding Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by seed
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2014
Made this last week for hubby's stepdad birthday. Made exactly as written using Pillsbury moist supreme white cake mix which now only comes in 15.25 ounces so added another 3 ounces to equal 18.25. Husband said it's his new favorite and that means it beat out a yellow cake with chocolate frosting. Also made sure ingredients were at room temperature. Used classic vanilla buttercream icing found at All Recipes. Making again today for a family party and hubby's been asking for more. I did need to bake it about 5-10 minutes longer than suggested using 9 inch aluminum cake pans on middle rack but oven temp was as suggested (used oven thermometer to check). Happy baking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jenn
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2014
This cake is AMAZING! I've been searching and searching for a white/vanilla/non-chocolate cake recipe to make a rainbow cake for my kids' birthday party. After three recipes, I didn't need to search any further! I made three batches of this recipe, so I could have 6 layers for my cake. Here are the changes I made: Because the white cake mix is now 16.25oz., I added 2 oz. of flour to the recipe. Also, as it didn't matter that the layers weren't pure white, I did 3 eggs instead of 4 egg whites. And lastly, someone dipped in to my sour cream (and I didn't have enough), so I added about an extra tablespoon of non-fat vanilla yogurt to make up the difference. I wanted vanilla flavor only, so doubled the vanilla and omitted the almond. The cakes baked for 35 minutes (two-9" layers at a time) in a light-colored cake pan. The taste is absolutely perfect for what I wanted. Everyone was gobbling up the tops that I cut off (to flatten my layers). I had to freeze the layers as the party is a week away, but this will make it easier to frost anyhow. So excited! Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2014
This cake was a big hit with my family. Tastes just like yummy wedding cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2014
I am testing recipes for Tiffany gift mini cakes. She wants white cake. How can I make this cake white? Butter and whole eggs make this a yellow cake. I would like to use this recipe based on reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GRAMMIX3

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Potrero, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2014
I have made this recipe 3 times and everyone thought it was delicious. Depending on your likes you may want to increase the vanilla or almond as my family loves almond!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JoMarie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Des Moines, Iowa, USA
Living In: Springfield, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2014
Excellent cake and so simple to make. I followed the instructions exactly and added 2 Tbsp flour to compensate for the shrinking cake mix size. Baked in 3 eight inch layers for 20 minutes. Perfect. Will make again with other flavors of cake mix. Thanks CUPYCAKESMURF :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2014
I baked this cake this afternoon but like one other person had mentioned I used an 9x13 inch pan & also made 6 cupcakes. I wanted to use a disposable pan since I'm taking the cake somewhere & don't have the larger pan except in my good pans. I did bake both at 350 instead of 325 and the cake took about 35-40 minutes whereas the cupcakes were 30-35 minutes. I used a chocolate frosting recipe and decorated with sliced almonds. My husband & I both thought the cupcakes were really good. He wasn't sure he would like it as well with a white frosting. He even suggested they would be good with whip cream in the middle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen L Steph

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2014
Made this for my grand-daughter's birthday party and it was delicious. I was practicing making wedding cake for my own wedding next week...it will be our cake and I'm layering white and chocolate variations with raspberry jam added for that special wedding touch!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommaepper

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by bamaboy35209
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2014
Must try this. Best cake I have ever made. Like many others I did not want an almond cake so I doubled the vanilla and omitted the almond extract. I also used two whole eggs instead of the egg whites nod it worked perfectly. I made a 12" x 3" layer cake and it was very sturdy and easy to work with. It also keeps well with people raving about the cake days later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2014
Absolutely delicious!! Everyone RAVED that it was better than some professional wedding cakes. They went NUTs over it!!! Here are a few things that I changed per other reviewers.... I did one full white box and a little bit less than 1/2 c. of another box. 3 full eggs, 2 tsp of almond, milk and then followed everything else on the ing list. Then I did a raspberry puree for in between the cakes. Raspberry jam, 1/2 box of raspberry gelatin, and then 1 sm box of mashed raspberries. Made homemade buttercream with almond.....DELICIOUS!!! It is so moist, but perfectly dense to hold up to the frostings. YUM! Weill absolutely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Dallas, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 469) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Heavenly White Cake

See how to make a wonderful white cake from scratch.

Simple White Cake

See how to make a simple white cake that’s perfect for layer cakes and cupcakes.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States