White Almond Wedding Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2012
This was an excellent cake. I made it for a coworker's birthday, who was on a diet. This was already a pretty low calorie cake, but I made it lower yet by using 1/2 c light sour cream and 1/2 cup light applesauce and only 1 tbls oil. For the topping I used light cool whip mixed with some powdered sugar. It turned out great, and everyone said it was really good and couldn't believe it was a "light" cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Union, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2012
This is THE recipe if you like white cake! Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by beagle5

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2012
I used this recipe to make cupcakes (dyed them pink) and then topped this with cotton candy flavored frosting. The cake was moist with a nice light crumb and it had a delicate enough flavor to let the frosting flavor stand out without the dessert being too sweet. These cupcakes were gone within half a day of making them because all of my friends wanted one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lkruth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wheaton, Illinois, USA
Living In: New Haven, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2012
I used this recipe for the bottom tier of a wedding cake. I followed the recipe exactly and it turned out great! I was concerned that the sour cream would make it too moist and not supportive enough for the large cake, but it was perfect and plenty dense. I filled it with layers of pastry cream (recipe found on this site) and strawberry. Definitely the best cake I have made thus far!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2012
My favorite white cake recipe, hands down!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2012
WOW GOOD. I think I have finally found my go to cake recipe. The 2nd time I made it I only had a yellow cake mix and I switched out the last 1/3 cup of water for amaretto liqueur for a more almond-y grown up cake. Both cakes came out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sbates
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2012
Trust me when I say this is the best white cake i have ever made, and i have made many. truly fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sbates

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kokomo, Indiana, USA
Living In: Westfield, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2012
I gave this recipe to a friend (she loves to bake) to make my neice's and my son's birthday cakes. We knew we wanted a recipe with sour creme and lost our personal recipe. This recipe is Ohhhhhhhhh so good! So dense yet so moist; so much better than regular out of the box cake! My friend also just loves the recipe too! Very easy and veryyyyy decilious! Every cake or cupcake she makes now uses this recipe; and the Easy Bavarian Creme recipe from this site is the biggest hit with it! She has been taking the filled cupcakes as samples to church and within a month she has had 6 request to make cakes for people. :) Everyone is VERY impressed! Totally recommend this recipe.....give it a try!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
I am only giving this recipe 4 stars as i have made this 2 different ways now. The first time i made it as cupcakes for my daughters birthday snack at school and it turned out good. The 2nd time i made a few changes. I used confetti cake mix and added half a pkg of vanilla pudding mix (instant) and also added 1 cup of white chocolate chips. I was making a double layer cake so i placed in 2 round cake pans and baked until light golden brown on top (about 30 min). The results were AMAZING!!! I used a cream cheese frosting and it went great with the cake (although i could have eaten it without the frosting). I made the double layer cake for my daughters birthday party and she loved it, in fact everybody loved it. The few changes really made it a cake to remember.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sandy, Utah, USA
Living In: Wausau, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
Thank you so much for a delicious cake! I'm not above taking any shortcuts, especially when something comes out tasting this good. I needed to bake 100 cupcakes for a surprise birthday party. My daughter-in-law wanted only chocolate & vanilla so I decided that they would be the best chocolate & vanilla cupcakes I could bake. I made an excellent choice with your recipe. The chocolate will be the "Too Much Chocolate Cake" recipe, also from allrecipes. Because we are making a golf course out of cupcakes, I didn't want them to be too full so I only filled the liners 1/2 full and they were perfect. It made 38 cupcakes! They smelled so good that I sampled one right out of the oven without frosting and I knew I had a keeper. I will never bake any other white cake again. All of you wonderful people here at allrecipes make me look so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARYSUNSHINE1

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 141-150 (of 472) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Heavenly White Cake

See how to make a wonderful white cake from scratch.

Simple White Cake

See how to make a simple white cake that’s perfect for layer cakes and cupcakes.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States