White Almond Wedding Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2012
I used this recipe for the first time to make it for my nieces wedding cake. It is absolutely incredible! Everyone commented on how moist and deliciious it was! Since I was making a large wedding cake, I did bake some of the tiers earlier in the week and then wrapped in plastic wrap and placed in the freezer for 3 - 5 days. After,I pulled out and frosted almost immediately (crumb coat). They held up great and made the best cake! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2012
I took the reviewer's suggestion of Duncan Hines Chocolate Cake, 2/3 C. flour, 1/3 C. cocoa, and instead of water I used coffee. I used vanilla for the flavoring. I topped it with DH Caramel frosting and added a little sea salt on top. Chocolate cupcakes with salted caramel frosting. They were very good and everyone loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ruth Rae

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Terre Haute, Indiana, USA
Living In: Zionsville, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2012
I recently made this for a wedding cake and it turned out fabulous! I've never had so many compliments on a cake. I followed the recipe but omitted the almond flavouring and doubled the vanilla. The cake was level and cut well. It was still moist days later. It froze well too. Wonderful recipe! I have another one in the oven right now for my mother's birthday tomorrow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2012
This is pretty tasty! I've started making all my baking recipes from scratch but had a box of white cake still in my cupboard, so I thought I'd find a recipe to make it go a little farther. I didn't have enough sourcream so I just used 4oz of creamcheese like someone else had mentioned and also put in a package vanilla pudding (dry mix) and I didn't use almond flavoring, I substituted more vanilla. It is a very moist cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2012
I am making my daughter's wedding cake (first one ever) and used this recipe for the first practice cake. The cake was delicious! She loved it. I didn't have the almond extract but I will get it and use it for the next time. It stayed moist for several days. I didn't have a white cake mix either, so used a "Funfetti" mix...may actually use it for the final cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2012
Meh
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2012
Everyone liked. Worth making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2012
This is a great layer cake. The flavor is delicious, it is sturdy enough to use frosting, and has a lovely crumb. Thanks for a super recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rosie
Reviewed: May 14, 2012
YUM! So moist. What a great cake base to do anything with. I didn't have almond extract so used extra vanilla. Family raved over it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by johnsonaj

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2012
All I can say is OMG!!! This is the best cake ever if you are looking for a white cake that doesn't taste like a chemical cake!!! I frosted with white chocolate mousse frosting...I have had four LARGE pieces today!!! My family loved it!!! Did not change a thing and we could easily taste the almond...Also made raspberry sorbet to serve on the side...PERFECT....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gunpackingrandma

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lake Tahoe, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 479) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Heavenly White Cake

See how to make a wonderful white cake from scratch.

Simple White Cake

See how to make a simple white cake that’s perfect for layer cakes and cupcakes.

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States