White Almond Wedding Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2012
Perfect! And tastes even better on day two. Be sure you notice the ounce size for the cake mix. Most are 2 oz. less than this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2012
let's just say.... WOW! I SO appreciate this recipe on so many levels! It is versatile, easy to change around to suit the needs of different palettes and it cuts BEAUTIFULLY! I made this for a childs birthday cake, approximately for 40 people, vanilla flavor all the way, it was excellent, and did NOT add the vanilla pudding mix like some mentioned, even though I had thought I should initially... and it was one of my best cakes ever. I finished it all off with a coconut buttercream frosting and had so many compliments on the texture and flavor, not too wet, not too heavy, not too crumbly... it was just very rewarding to finally find a cake i can make without worry as to how it will come out. OH and it is a BEAUTIFUL WHITE cake when it is finished baking. I make cakes from my home as a modest extra income and this one will probably be the one to bring in the "clients"! Thanks a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by suprmom

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wolcott, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2012
I was nervous about making a wedding cake and how it would turn out but it was outstanding! I like almond so I added a little more. It was moist even after making it a couple days ahead. This will be a regular thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2012
I did not care for this recipe. It's dense and gummy, with a raw flour taste. I have a degree in baking and pastry, and do a lot of cakes, so it's not that I don't know what I'm doing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2012
Made this cake twice before the big event, and it turned out beautifully and delicious all three times! I used a French Vanilla cake mix instead of the white mix, but otherwise followed the recipe. Received many compliments!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by micaela_anne
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2012
After a disaster day of baking using a different recipe, I decided to take a chance on this one. Using whole eggs instead of whites and 2 teaspoons of vanilla (in place of vanilla and almond) this cake turned out perfectly! Using whole eggs instead of whites meant tt was sturdy enough to stack 2 feet high. (I probably used 3 eggs in place of 4 whites.) The cake was moist, didn't crumb too much, and super flavorful. Everyone is surprised when I tell them that a box mix is one of the ingredients. The other additions give this cake a gourmet flavor, while the box mix ensures the texture people expect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by micaela_anne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2012
Made the cake with a raspberry mouse filling and it was a hit. My husband requested an almond cake for his birthday because it reminds him of our delicious wedding cake. This was a VERY close replica. I was worried because after I assembled all of the ingredients, I noted on the cake mix box that it was only 16.25 ounces, not the 18.25 needed in the recipe. Still turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2012
This is an excellent!! Cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Clarksburg, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by just for you
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2012
Great recipe, I have used it 4 times now for cakes and cupcakes. There are so many ways you can modify this recipe. The cake is firm but moist, will easily hold fondant, and can be hollowed out for adding a filling inside a cupcake. I've done lemonade, raspberry, pink lemonade frosting and fondant. I am just a home baker for friends and family, so you can do it too! I got 36 normal size cupcakes out of this recipe. Thank for this good all purpose recipe. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by just for you

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2012
I followed the recipe exactly except used cake flour and 2 whole eggs as some other reviewers suggested. I did sift. Good texture & I thought the taste was really good, but I wasn't certain if it was worth the extra work. The acid test was my family of 6, usually lukewarm about cupcakes. I made over 30 cupcakes and in 3 days, they were all gone! All loved them! I recommend and will definitely make this again!! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 457) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Heavenly White Cake

See how to make a wonderful white cake from scratch.

Simple White Cake

See how to make a simple white cake that’s perfect for layer cakes and cupcakes.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States