Whisky Tea Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2009
Absolutely wonderful. I've been making this for years, but as a slightly more alcoholic version. I recommend Twining's Irish Breakfast Tea, Jameson Irish Whiskey, Bailey's Irish Cream Liqueur to replace the milk, and Orange Blossom Honey to replace the sugar. Essentially the same thing, smoother with a little bit more of a kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2009
Love this! It brings back wonderful memories of my Grandmother fixing this on a cold winter night when any of us (kids and adults) had a cold! It's wonderful and will make you feel all warm, cozy and relaxed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2009
Ahh "Whistea"! This concoction got me thru many a cold and flu! Maybe it didn't cure the malady, but it sure made it more bearable!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2009
WONDERFUL...Soothing...Intoxicating! Who can ask for more? I grew up on Russian Lemon Tea with Milk & Honey so this was right up my alley. A friend from Poland suggested adding Whiskey to a sweet black tea when you have a sore throat or are generally feeling sick. It should be sipped while wrapped-up in a warm blanket with your PJ's, or some other comfortable clothes. An excellent brew for rainy nights by the fire or to serve to company as a winter aperitif when you are out of Swedish Glugg/mulled wine (wink). Skoal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MAMASPICE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Living In: Lakewood, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2009
My Grandmother and Mother used this. esp with hacking coughs that kept us kids up at night. though grandma used brandy as that was what she had on hand. Really works
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Akron, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2009
I love this tea. I have had it virtually my whole life as this was my mom's 1950's version of night time cold medicine. She used honey as a sweetener and less whiskey (at least for the kids!) Very comforting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
Fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2008
M-AZING! I'm not a super fan of whiskey but I substituted Southern Comfort and WOWOWOW! It's FANTASTIC! and not strong at all! Super recipe!!!! If anyone hasn't tried this yet....YOU WILL LOVE IT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2008
This recipe is delicious and reminds me of my grandmothers who both drank their tea this way. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHANNSTODD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bozeman, Montana, USA
Living In: Harker Heights, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2008
Delicious. I had half a bottle of Bushmills on hand that I've had about a year, but once I found this recipe the bottle was gone in a little over a week. The recipe doesn't specify, but I'd suggest using a dark tea. I love tea and tried a few varieties and favored the Bushmills and spiced chai combo. Great find.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by katbarnes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Long Island Iced Tea

Watch how to make this tea-free, punch-packing alcoholic drink.

Long Island Iced Tea Cocktail

See how to make a potent cocktail that’s dangerously delicious.

Smooth Sweet Tea

See how to make a sweet Southern refresher.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States