Whiskey-Marinated Steak Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2008
This was very good. it reminded me a lot of the Jack Daniel's sauce at TGIFriday's. I marinated the steaks in the sauce and then during the grilling process i simmered the sauce on the stove until it reduced and became more of a glaze and poured it over the meat to serve. the only problem was that when i did that it became very salty. i might try reducing the soy next time. other than that it was wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2008
FANTASTIC!!! This was really good, but I did make a few minor changes to it just for my preferences in the steak department. I LOVE marinating, so I let the steak marinate for a really long time. I tripled the amount of whiskey (for my benefits =]) and then added two 8 oz cartons of buttermilk and then about a cup of milk. I added 6 TBSP of salt and 5 bushles of parsley. As you can see, I was cooking for a lot of people. I then took 2 tomatoes and held them over the steak and squeased them in my fists. WOW it was so goooood. Finally I cooked it for only 2 minutes on each side and left it really really rare, so much that blood literally was squirting when I cut into my piece. DELISHHH! Try all of my changes and you will be amazed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lauren Love

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2008
This marinade was unbelievable! The steaks came out so juicy and full of flavour. At first, I was concerned as a few reviewers mentioned the whiskey taste was way too strong (and I hate whiskey). I let it marinate for 24 hours and when I took it out of the fridge, I could really smell it (which further scared me)! But after barbequing it... WOW, it tasted amazing. The only change I made was replacing pineapple juice for orange (that's all I had).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2008
Myself nor the rest of my family (4 of us) liked this recipe. It was like an Asian style steak dumped in whiskey.The liquid smoke didn't go with the soy or teryaki flavor at all.That is mainly used with barbecue, though I can appreciate trying knew things. With little tastes of the rest of the ingredients, mainly all that was tasted was the whiskey. Maybe you have to be a whiskey lover to enjoy this. I was really disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by blondemamaof2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Aurora, Illinois, USA
Living In: Lanark, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2008
This was overkill on the whiskey. Marinated for 24 hours. Far too much flavor. I think my previous version of worcestershire sauce and Lawrys is what Im gonna stick with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2008
i used worcestershire sauce instead of teriyaki sauce used 2/3 Jack Daniels. insead of rib-eye's i used 4 16 ounce t-bones and poke holes in the steacks and let them marinade for little over 24 hours. Will use this recipe agian over and over
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boron, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2008
Wow, I have tried alot of marinades for steak before but this one wins. I followed the recipe and cooked the steak over the fire tonight and the family could not get enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2008
Excellent flavor to a steak.....have to cook slowly, because the marinade causes flame ups.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2008
This marinade is wonderful. I wanted to have a romantic dinner at home with the hubby and this hit the spot. Just as good as a restaurant steak if not better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ITALIANMOMOF3;)

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2008
I used this recipe with steak tips, and instead of grilling them, I actually cooked them IN the mixture, on the stove. and they were A-MAZING. Best steak tips I've ever eaten.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda M.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grilled Garlic Fennel Flank Steak with Oranges

See how to make flavorful flank steak with grilled oranges.

Grilled Spanish Mustard Steak

Spanish ingredients make a delicious marinade for grilled steak.

Grilled Garlic Steak with Garlic

See how to make an amazing double-garlic steak on the grill.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States