Whiskey-Marinated Steak Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2014
put halve the amount of whiskey and substituted teriyaki sauce with cola, and it was amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2013
I have used this recipe for the last couple of years and family and guests love it. I use a lot more garlic and onions and use about 21/2 inch thick strip loins. I boil up marinade for a gravy. Cook steaks medium rare and cut very thin. Great with mashed potatoes. I frequently make the marinade and freeze the steaks in the marinade so they are ready to go.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cornwall, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2013
We tried this out on our camping trip, someone gave us a bottle of Whiskey and we don't drink it, but boy howdy does it make a great marinade...now we know to do with the stuff. Steaks were juicy and a nice flavor, didn't put the water in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *Sherri*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winter Springs, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2011
Simple to put together and gave excellent flavor even after 6 hours of marinating the steaks in it! I personalized it a bit and removed the liquid smoke (mainly because I did not have any) and added pineapple tidbits to the marinade. Once I placed the steaks on the grill, I used about 1/2 of the marinade to baste the steaks. This smelled so good that before grilling the steaks, I made another batch of marinade (again with pineapple added and liquid smoke removed), put it in a large saute pan on the stove, and reduced it to a thickened sauce that could be served with the steaks. I was not sure how much flavor only 6 hours of marinating would impart, but even without the reduction on it, the steak had taken on a very nice flavor. I have had many of those "Whiskey Marinated" steaks dining out. Now I can now have them at home using my personally selected cuts of steak and other selected ingrediants and sides. Steaks for dinner......................................$ 30.00 Chicken nuggets for kids ...........................$ 15.00 Bottle of wine...........................................$ 19.00 Not having to take 5 kids to a restaurant for this great steak dish.............................PRICELESS Thanks, Victoria!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NorthStar73

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Laona, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2011
this was a great recipe for camping out; easy and the marinade really gave the steaks flavor; even the kids enjoyed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bonduel, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2011
My wife who doesn't like steak even enjoyed this recipe. This is awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lewdude
Home Town: Dearborn, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2011
Yum, yum, yum! Marinated for 48 hours (on accident) and came out delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eric Bassett

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2011
I have already made this steak marinade twice without modifications and everyone that I've prepared it for LOVES it. This is a great tasting marinade.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by southernbell77

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
I didn't really like this recipe all that much. I will admit that I substituted orange juice for the pineapple because I didn't have any in the fridge. I also broiled my steaks rather then grilled. Not sure if it was the substitution or the manner of cooking but no one in the family enjoyed this recipe. To me it seemed like all you could taste was the whiskey and brown sugar. While I do enjoy the taste of both, it didn't seem to go well on steak.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wolfwyndd
Home Town: Springfield, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dayton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2010
Very good. I didn't change a thing other than cutting the recipe down because I only had 4 steaks. My audience were all hearty beef eaters, so the pressure was on. This recipe did not disappoint.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bloomington, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Day Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Day Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Grilled Garlic Fennel Flank Steak with Oranges

See how to make flavorful flank steak with grilled oranges.

Grilled Spanish Mustard Steak

Spanish ingredients make a delicious marinade for grilled steak.

Grilled Garlic Steak with Garlic

See how to make an amazing double-garlic steak on the grill.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States