Whiskey Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2001
Spectacular! YUMMMMMMM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Olympia, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2003
As a busy college student, I greatly appreciated a recipe that was this quick, easy, and delicious. After taking the chicken out of the pan, add a touch of cornstarch to the sauce to thicken, then cover the chicken and serve with rice. Very yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2001
I love serving this to my family. Everyone loves it and it's a welcome change from plain old chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2001
I made this for my husband last night and he loved it! I'm a vegetarian so I used tofu for my portion. delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2004
Super easy, Super fast and an excellent flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2005
I would recommend this to anyone, but I did "cheat" a little - my chicken breasts were frozen, so I dumped a tablespoon each of water, honey, and single malt scotch on them, crushed some small garlic cloves, and let them "marinate" in the refrigerator for a bit. I also used Johnny Walker (scotch) instead of bourbon, because that's what we had in the house. When I sauteed the chicken, I added the garlic that was in the marinade. And an extra tablespoon of brown sugar, and about 1/8 tsp cornstarch. It needs at least 15 minutes to simmer, I think. I thought this was fabulous served over yellow rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Greenhills, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2007
Although I changed some of the ingredients, I still gave it a 5 b/c my husband was whooping and raving about how good it was. I've spent hours on some recipes and have never gotten this reaction. Here's my variation (only because I didn't have some of the ingredients): Used thighs vs. breasts b/c they absorb flavor better and I'm not particularly fond of breast. Used soy sauce substitution (didn’t have soy sauce – recipe below). ¼ cup honey vs. pineapple juice (didn’t have on hand). Tennessee Whiskey – would use 2 Tbs next time or cook a little longer to burn off alcohol. 2 Tbs brown sugar, maybe a tad more. * Seasoned chicken with salt and sautéed, adding a small sliced onion halfway through and cooking until chicken was no longer pink and onion soft. * Added a chopped carrot and sauce mixture and brought it to a boil. Turned off heat and let it sit for 30 min (almost like a marinade) because I was waiting for hubby to get home. *Cooked for 15 minutes and added cornstarch to thicken. Served over mashed potatoes - loved it! and better yet, hubby loved it SOY SAUCE SUBSTITUTE 1 1/2 c. boiling water 4 tbsp. low sodium beef bouillon Pinch pepper 1 tbsp. dark molasses 4 tbsp. cider vinegar 1 tsp. sesame seed oil Combine all ingredients in a bowl, stirring to blend thoroughly. Pour into jars. Cover and seal tightly. May be refrigerated indefinitely. Shake well before using. Makes 2 cups sauce
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2008
Fantastic. Just like bourbon chicken from the mall.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brian J.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Reno, Nevada, USA
Living In: Aurora, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2008
Yummm... my family loved it! The only ingredient I left out was the whiskey because we didn't have any, but even without it I liked the flavor. Sort of sweet and savory! This is actually the closest I have come to the sesame chicken recipe at our local restaurant. I cut up the meat into thin strips cooked them in canola oil because I didn't have olive oil. Added the sauce a few mintues after the chicken. I also used about a teaspoon of cornstarch. Served it with Chinese Mie noodles and sugar snap peas!! Next time I'm going to use the whiskey and add more cornstarch because I like the sauce to really stick to the chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by eas524

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: West Bend, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2009
WOW!!!!!!! This is a million times better than any restaurant could make!!! I followed the recipe almost exactly, except: -replaced pineapple juice with syrup from canned pears (no pineapple juice handy) -sauteed chicken in chicken broth to keep some moisture in -added a tiny bit of crushed red pepper THE BEST!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shortstack<3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cheyenne, Wyoming, USA
Living In: San Clemente, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Garlic Chicken Fried Chicken

See how to make garlicky chicken breasts cooked chicken fried steak-style.

Southern Fried Chicken

Watch how to make this top-rated classic.

How to Make Chicken and Biscuits

It's like a cross between chicken pot pie and chicken and dumplings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States