Whiskey Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 31, 2001
This was pretty good. It has potential. I am going to try it again but add some fresh vegetables like brocoli, red bell pepper and onion. I served it over rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2007
Although I changed some of the ingredients, I still gave it a 5 b/c my husband was whooping and raving about how good it was. I've spent hours on some recipes and have never gotten this reaction. Here's my variation (only because I didn't have some of the ingredients): Used thighs vs. breasts b/c they absorb flavor better and I'm not particularly fond of breast. Used soy sauce substitution (didn’t have soy sauce – recipe below). ¼ cup honey vs. pineapple juice (didn’t have on hand). Tennessee Whiskey – would use 2 Tbs next time or cook a little longer to burn off alcohol. 2 Tbs brown sugar, maybe a tad more. * Seasoned chicken with salt and sautéed, adding a small sliced onion halfway through and cooking until chicken was no longer pink and onion soft. * Added a chopped carrot and sauce mixture and brought it to a boil. Turned off heat and let it sit for 30 min (almost like a marinade) because I was waiting for hubby to get home. *Cooked for 15 minutes and added cornstarch to thicken. Served over mashed potatoes - loved it! and better yet, hubby loved it SOY SAUCE SUBSTITUTE 1 1/2 c. boiling water 4 tbsp. low sodium beef bouillon Pinch pepper 1 tbsp. dark molasses 4 tbsp. cider vinegar 1 tsp. sesame seed oil Combine all ingredients in a bowl, stirring to blend thoroughly. Pour into jars. Cover and seal tightly. May be refrigerated indefinitely. Shake well before using. Makes 2 cups sauce
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2002
I agree with MOLSON7 on this one all the way! I have to admit, when I first put it together, and "taste tested" it, my reaction was less then impressed.... then, I served it over rice and as I made my way through it, it seemed to get better and better... almost like an "acquired taste" sort of thing. I personally added a tablespoon of cornstarch to the "broth" to thicken it a bit. I will be making this one again, but think it can be much improved upon by using chunked pineapple in heavy syrup along with red and green bell peppers cut in strips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2001
I like that you can throw this together at the last minute, no marinating. Next time I would cut the pineapple juice in half, add one more tbls of bourbon and I had to add one tbls of cornstarch to get the sauce to thicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2003
As a busy college student, I greatly appreciated a recipe that was this quick, easy, and delicious. After taking the chicken out of the pan, add a touch of cornstarch to the sauce to thicken, then cover the chicken and serve with rice. Very yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2002
I thought this was a really great recipe. My Mom, Dad and I all loved it. It was easy to make and very tasty! I served it with green beans, salad, rolls, and mashed potatoes (with the sauce as the gravy for the potatoes). It was a good meal, and I will definitely make it again. I say to try it and experiment with it to your taste (more pepper or bourbon, etc.) With a jazzy Harry Connick CD playing in the background, you'll feel like you're eating on Bourbon Street.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2007
We thought this dish was fabulous. Added a few more seasonings including ginger and added broccoli to the chicken. Served it over orzo pasta. Thanks so much Jamie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2009
I don't know what I did wrong here, followed recipe to the tee and was not impressed. The whiskey was overwhelming, it was all I could taste. I know the recipe is called whiskey chicken, but I thought it would be like the Bourbon chicken you get at those Chinese places in the mall. IF I make again, I will use less bourbon whiskey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gpanr

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2008
This turned out well although I changed the baking method. I cooked my chicken on a griddle in some EVOO just to get it browned up and then transferred to a 13x9 pan. I stirred about 2 Tbsp. cornstarch into the sauce mixture and poured this over the chicken and baked it at 350 until the chicken was cooked through, about 30 minutes. The sauce thickened up nicely in the oven. You can definitely pick up the whiskey flavor a bit but it was not too overpowering even for the kids. served with mashed potatoes and peas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2005
I would recommend this to anyone, but I did "cheat" a little - my chicken breasts were frozen, so I dumped a tablespoon each of water, honey, and single malt scotch on them, crushed some small garlic cloves, and let them "marinate" in the refrigerator for a bit. I also used Johnny Walker (scotch) instead of bourbon, because that's what we had in the house. When I sauteed the chicken, I added the garlic that was in the marinade. And an extra tablespoon of brown sugar, and about 1/8 tsp cornstarch. It needs at least 15 minutes to simmer, I think. I thought this was fabulous served over yellow rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Greenhills, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Garlic Chicken Fried Chicken

See how to make garlicky chicken breasts cooked chicken fried steak-style.

Southern Fried Chicken

Watch how to make this top-rated classic.

How to Make Chicken and Biscuits

It's like a cross between chicken pot pie and chicken and dumplings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States