Whiskey Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2009
A family pleaser! I made this as written and we really enjoyed it served with brown rice and broccoli.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2009
This was a good base. As is it's 3 stars. To me, it needed some tweaking. This is just my opinion. I added less that a cup of pineapple juice--1 cup would have been too sweet. I also added the whiskey by CAPful to desired taste. Also added chopped garlic, more pepper, broccoli, onions, corn starch, a pinch of salt and a heap of crushed pepper flakes. I also cooked the meat first (whole pieces) in a pan, poured all the ingredients into a baking dish and baked until done. I read where the smell of the whiskey cooking was not so good, so I baked it to burn the alcohol off. I then transferred everything bake into the pan I cooked the chicken in , cut up the chicken and added more of the above ingredients to taste. With a little tweaking, it's quite good. Some people like more of a sweet taste, some like spice. If you are going to go follow the recipe as is, mix the sauce together in a bowl and taste it, you can always add more to it. We loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2009
I really liked it alot. I would have given it 5 stars but it really just tasted like sweet and sour chicken. Maybe I'll add more whiskey next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2009
This recipe was edible (or at least for myself and my daughter), but that's about as good as it got. My husband hated it. I wish I had read all of the reviews before I made it. I'm not sure if I'm going to try it again. There are so many changes we would make to it that it wouldn't even be close to the original recipe. I'm not sure this is worth the time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fallbrook, California, USA
Living In: Elkton, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2009
my husband loved this. We had no left overs. I added cornstarch like a previous review said to do and I added some broccoli. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2009
Very tasty; a flavorful and easy meal. I did not find the amount of whiskey to be overpowering, though I could taste it in there. (Which is the point - otherwise, why bother?) I did use cornstarch to thicken the sauce, and like some other reviewers I felt that it didn't smell very good while cooking. It was yummy though and smelled good once it was finished and served over brown rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BYRDYGIRL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Marcos, California, USA
Living In: Robbinsdale, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2009
WOW!!!!!!! This is a million times better than any restaurant could make!!! I followed the recipe almost exactly, except: -replaced pineapple juice with syrup from canned pears (no pineapple juice handy) -sauteed chicken in chicken broth to keep some moisture in -added a tiny bit of crushed red pepper THE BEST!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shortstack<3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cheyenne, Wyoming, USA
Living In: San Clemente, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2009
I don't know what I did wrong here, followed recipe to the tee and was not impressed. The whiskey was overwhelming, it was all I could taste. I know the recipe is called whiskey chicken, but I thought it would be like the Bourbon chicken you get at those Chinese places in the mall. IF I make again, I will use less bourbon whiskey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gpanr

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2009
Sauce is ok in flavor, but pretty thin. I used cornstarch to thicken it, and also added some broccoli, red pepper, red onion and garlic to the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Gatos, California, USA
Living In: Colfax, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2008
Sauce never thickened up, it smelled bad when cooking and was barely edible even when served with rice as someone else suggested would improve the taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Round Rock, Texas, USA
Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Garlic Chicken Fried Chicken

See how to make garlicky chicken breasts cooked chicken fried steak-style.

Southern Fried Chicken

Watch how to make this top-rated classic.

Slow Cooker Chicken Cacciatore

Favorite Italian chicken dish prepared in a slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States