Whiskey Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 27, 2012
very good esp if you cook the chicken in the liquid..it brings it down to more of a sauce and it makes the chicken more flavorful and tender.. We like it with the mashed potatoes as well..Its even better the next day>>
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nasho

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Maryville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Jackson, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: May 6, 2012
Was good, but not great. Will try again. I was expecting the sauce to be more of a glaze and it was not...We did eat it all including the leftovers, but it needs something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: New Rochelle, New York, USA
Living In: Oakdale, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2012
I doubled the sauce, poured some in a container and the rest joined the chicken in a zip bag; both spent the night in the fridge. Later discarded the zip bag of marinade, browned the chicken to a slight blush of brown and baked in the oven @ 350 for 30 min, using saved sauce as a baste. I also used a trace of sauce to simmer mushrooms, diced red and green peppers. Add the veggies to a compliment of your favorite pasta and dreamy creamy Alfredo sauce really sets this dish among the fine restaurant ranks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bogalusa, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Covington, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
the end product tasted amazing and it was very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2011
i think some of your measurements are wrong. the sauce never thicken and it has to much pineapple juice and no spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by anissa

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbus, Georgia, USA
Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2011
This was ok. It really was just sweet and sour chicken. Was disappointed that the taste of the whiskey didn't come through more. Next time I'll marinate in whiskey. Also, not nearly as dark and carmelized as the picture. Sauce woudn't thicken so I had to add corn starch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
I made this for dinner tonight expecting to have what I saw in the picture but it did not look anything like it. The sauce was very light and I followed the recipe exactly with the exception of adding broccoli. I'm not sure if maybe I needed to use dark brown sugar instead of light brown sugar or if I needed to use a dark soy sauce. Even though it didn't like the same it tasted great! Next time I might try a dark soy sauce
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Augusta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2010
I followed this recipe perfectly and even used top of the line whiskey. I didn't like it at all. So much that I couldn't even finish what was on my plate. My husband eats everything and he didn't like it either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Inverness, Florida, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
Very good! I took the advice of many of the other reviewers and first sauteed onions and 1 clove of garlic in two tablespoons of olive oil and then during the last few minutes of cooking the chicken in the soy sauce mixture I added broccoli and red bell pepper. Lastly, I made some brown rice and poured it on top. Deliciousness!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GoingDomestic

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2009
This was a pretty good meal, but it wasn't overly memorable. I was expecting the whiskey to really give it a distinct, different flavor- but between the pineapple juice and brown sugar, really just ends up tasting like a generic asian chicken dish. We even added extra whiskey to give it more of a kick... ultimately I just felt bad for using up the Jack Daniels... whiskey is an expensive ingredient to have such a anti-climactic result. Like I said, it was good- just not much more interesting than the next chicken dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Garlic Chicken Fried Chicken

See how to make garlicky chicken breasts cooked chicken fried steak-style.

Southern Fried Chicken

Watch how to make this top-rated classic.

Slow Cooker Chicken Cacciatore

Favorite Italian chicken dish prepared in a slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States