Whiskey Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2001
I love serving this to my family. Everyone loves it and it's a welcome change from plain old chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2004
Super easy, Super fast and an excellent flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2007
Although I changed some of the ingredients, I still gave it a 5 b/c my husband was whooping and raving about how good it was. I've spent hours on some recipes and have never gotten this reaction. Here's my variation (only because I didn't have some of the ingredients): Used thighs vs. breasts b/c they absorb flavor better and I'm not particularly fond of breast. Used soy sauce substitution (didn’t have soy sauce – recipe below). ¼ cup honey vs. pineapple juice (didn’t have on hand). Tennessee Whiskey – would use 2 Tbs next time or cook a little longer to burn off alcohol. 2 Tbs brown sugar, maybe a tad more. * Seasoned chicken with salt and sautéed, adding a small sliced onion halfway through and cooking until chicken was no longer pink and onion soft. * Added a chopped carrot and sauce mixture and brought it to a boil. Turned off heat and let it sit for 30 min (almost like a marinade) because I was waiting for hubby to get home. *Cooked for 15 minutes and added cornstarch to thicken. Served over mashed potatoes - loved it! and better yet, hubby loved it SOY SAUCE SUBSTITUTE 1 1/2 c. boiling water 4 tbsp. low sodium beef bouillon Pinch pepper 1 tbsp. dark molasses 4 tbsp. cider vinegar 1 tsp. sesame seed oil Combine all ingredients in a bowl, stirring to blend thoroughly. Pour into jars. Cover and seal tightly. May be refrigerated indefinitely. Shake well before using. Makes 2 cups sauce
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2003
As a busy college student, I greatly appreciated a recipe that was this quick, easy, and delicious. After taking the chicken out of the pan, add a touch of cornstarch to the sauce to thicken, then cover the chicken and serve with rice. Very yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2005
I would recommend this to anyone, but I did "cheat" a little - my chicken breasts were frozen, so I dumped a tablespoon each of water, honey, and single malt scotch on them, crushed some small garlic cloves, and let them "marinate" in the refrigerator for a bit. I also used Johnny Walker (scotch) instead of bourbon, because that's what we had in the house. When I sauteed the chicken, I added the garlic that was in the marinade. And an extra tablespoon of brown sugar, and about 1/8 tsp cornstarch. It needs at least 15 minutes to simmer, I think. I thought this was fabulous served over yellow rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Greenhills, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2008
Fantastic. Just like bourbon chicken from the mall.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brian J.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Reno, Nevada, USA
Living In: Aurora, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2001
I made this for my husband last night and he loved it! I'm a vegetarian so I used tofu for my portion. delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2001
Spectacular! YUMMMMMMM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Olympia, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2008
Yummm... my family loved it! The only ingredient I left out was the whiskey because we didn't have any, but even without it I liked the flavor. Sort of sweet and savory! This is actually the closest I have come to the sesame chicken recipe at our local restaurant. I cut up the meat into thin strips cooked them in canola oil because I didn't have olive oil. Added the sauce a few mintues after the chicken. I also used about a teaspoon of cornstarch. Served it with Chinese Mie noodles and sugar snap peas!! Next time I'm going to use the whiskey and add more cornstarch because I like the sauce to really stick to the chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by eas524

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: West Bend, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2009
WOW!!!!!!! This is a million times better than any restaurant could make!!! I followed the recipe almost exactly, except: -replaced pineapple juice with syrup from canned pears (no pineapple juice handy) -sauteed chicken in chicken broth to keep some moisture in -added a tiny bit of crushed red pepper THE BEST!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shortstack<3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cheyenne, Wyoming, USA
Living In: San Clemente, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Garlic Chicken Fried Chicken

See how to make garlicky chicken breasts cooked chicken fried steak-style.

Southern Fried Chicken

Watch how to make this top-rated classic.

How to Make Buttermilk Fried Chicken

Chef John’s buttermilk fried chicken is impossibly crispy and tasty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States