Whiskey Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2008
Fantastic. Just like bourbon chicken from the mall.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brian J.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Reno, Nevada, USA
Living In: Aurora, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2007
I agree with many other posters...this recipe has great potential. I did add onion and chopped pineapple along with minced garlic to the chicken as it cooked. I didn't have any bourbon whiskey so I used an Irish whiskey. After simmering for 20 minutes I also had to add cornstarch to thicken the sauce. This will definitely be made again and will experiment more with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Springfield, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2007
We took suggestions of other reviewers & added 2 cloves crushed garlic, 1tsp. fresh ground ginger & a shake(or 2)of LA Gold (hot sauce). We also sautéed 1 sliced onion along w/ the chicken pieces. All of the above, we highly recommend. We steamed fresh carrots, broccoli & mushrooms & added to the sauce. I think this was a mistake as it watered down the flavor of the sauce. Next time, we’d serve over basmati rice (again), add the steamed vegetables & THEN the chicken w/ sauce mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: White Oak, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Westminster, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2007
We thought this dish was fabulous. Added a few more seasonings including ginger and added broccoli to the chicken. Served it over orzo pasta. Thanks so much Jamie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2007
Although I changed some of the ingredients, I still gave it a 5 b/c my husband was whooping and raving about how good it was. I've spent hours on some recipes and have never gotten this reaction. Here's my variation (only because I didn't have some of the ingredients): Used thighs vs. breasts b/c they absorb flavor better and I'm not particularly fond of breast. Used soy sauce substitution (didn’t have soy sauce – recipe below). ¼ cup honey vs. pineapple juice (didn’t have on hand). Tennessee Whiskey – would use 2 Tbs next time or cook a little longer to burn off alcohol. 2 Tbs brown sugar, maybe a tad more. * Seasoned chicken with salt and sautéed, adding a small sliced onion halfway through and cooking until chicken was no longer pink and onion soft. * Added a chopped carrot and sauce mixture and brought it to a boil. Turned off heat and let it sit for 30 min (almost like a marinade) because I was waiting for hubby to get home. *Cooked for 15 minutes and added cornstarch to thicken. Served over mashed potatoes - loved it! and better yet, hubby loved it SOY SAUCE SUBSTITUTE 1 1/2 c. boiling water 4 tbsp. low sodium beef bouillon Pinch pepper 1 tbsp. dark molasses 4 tbsp. cider vinegar 1 tsp. sesame seed oil Combine all ingredients in a bowl, stirring to blend thoroughly. Pour into jars. Cover and seal tightly. May be refrigerated indefinitely. Shake well before using. Makes 2 cups sauce
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2006
i must say that i wasn't sure what to expect from this dish. It was interesting to try, but i probabaly will not try this recipe again. I found it a little on the bland side. i was hoping for a little more spark in the dish ( because of the whiskey). I feel that there is something missing in the dish, and i cannot figure what it is. i beleive that this could be a a very good dish ( if i could figure out what the ingrediant is)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2006
We really enjoyed this as did our friends - there were NO leftovers. I doubled the recipe, went with extra garlic powder and added 2 T cornstarch to thicken the sauce, served over rice. Thought that it smelled great while cooking. Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grants Pass, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2006
I'm sorry, but I truly did not like this dish. I would suggest that if you are not a fan of bourbon, you stay away. I am so-so about bourbon, but cooking it really brings out the pungent smell, which I couldn't handle. Other than that, I liked it, but the bourbon was so overpowering....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2005
really didn't care for this. I used crushed pinapple and southern comfort. It seemed to be a bit bland still, even with the changes, as suggested from others. I don't think I will try this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paojava

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Spotsylvania, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2005
I would recommend this to anyone, but I did "cheat" a little - my chicken breasts were frozen, so I dumped a tablespoon each of water, honey, and single malt scotch on them, crushed some small garlic cloves, and let them "marinate" in the refrigerator for a bit. I also used Johnny Walker (scotch) instead of bourbon, because that's what we had in the house. When I sauteed the chicken, I added the garlic that was in the marinade. And an extra tablespoon of brown sugar, and about 1/8 tsp cornstarch. It needs at least 15 minutes to simmer, I think. I thought this was fabulous served over yellow rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Greenhills, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Garlic Chicken Fried Chicken

See how to make garlicky chicken breasts cooked chicken fried steak-style.

Southern Fried Chicken

Watch how to make this top-rated classic.

How to Make Chicken and Biscuits

It's like a cross between chicken pot pie and chicken and dumplings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States