Whiskey Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2012
I doubled the sauce, poured some in a container and the rest joined the chicken in a zip bag; both spent the night in the fridge. Later discarded the zip bag of marinade, browned the chicken to a slight blush of brown and baked in the oven @ 350 for 30 min, using saved sauce as a baste. I also used a trace of sauce to simmer mushrooms, diced red and green peppers. Add the veggies to a compliment of your favorite pasta and dreamy creamy Alfredo sauce really sets this dish among the fine restaurant ranks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bogalusa, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Covington, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
the end product tasted amazing and it was very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2011
i think some of your measurements are wrong. the sauce never thicken and it has to much pineapple juice and no spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by anissa

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbus, Georgia, USA
Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2011
This was ok. It really was just sweet and sour chicken. Was disappointed that the taste of the whiskey didn't come through more. Next time I'll marinate in whiskey. Also, not nearly as dark and carmelized as the picture. Sauce woudn't thicken so I had to add corn starch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
I made this for dinner tonight expecting to have what I saw in the picture but it did not look anything like it. The sauce was very light and I followed the recipe exactly with the exception of adding broccoli. I'm not sure if maybe I needed to use dark brown sugar instead of light brown sugar or if I needed to use a dark soy sauce. Even though it didn't like the same it tasted great! Next time I might try a dark soy sauce
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Augusta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2010
I followed this recipe perfectly and even used top of the line whiskey. I didn't like it at all. So much that I couldn't even finish what was on my plate. My husband eats everything and he didn't like it either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Inverness, Florida, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
Very good! I took the advice of many of the other reviewers and first sauteed onions and 1 clove of garlic in two tablespoons of olive oil and then during the last few minutes of cooking the chicken in the soy sauce mixture I added broccoli and red bell pepper. Lastly, I made some brown rice and poured it on top. Deliciousness!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GoingDomestic

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2009
This was a pretty good meal, but it wasn't overly memorable. I was expecting the whiskey to really give it a distinct, different flavor- but between the pineapple juice and brown sugar, really just ends up tasting like a generic asian chicken dish. We even added extra whiskey to give it more of a kick... ultimately I just felt bad for using up the Jack Daniels... whiskey is an expensive ingredient to have such a anti-climactic result. Like I said, it was good- just not much more interesting than the next chicken dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2009
A family pleaser! I made this as written and we really enjoyed it served with brown rice and broccoli.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2009
This was a good base. As is it's 3 stars. To me, it needed some tweaking. This is just my opinion. I added less that a cup of pineapple juice--1 cup would have been too sweet. I also added the whiskey by CAPful to desired taste. Also added chopped garlic, more pepper, broccoli, onions, corn starch, a pinch of salt and a heap of crushed pepper flakes. I also cooked the meat first (whole pieces) in a pan, poured all the ingredients into a baking dish and baked until done. I read where the smell of the whiskey cooking was not so good, so I baked it to burn the alcohol off. I then transferred everything bake into the pan I cooked the chicken in , cut up the chicken and added more of the above ingredients to taste. With a little tweaking, it's quite good. Some people like more of a sweet taste, some like spice. If you are going to go follow the recipe as is, mix the sauce together in a bowl and taste it, you can always add more to it. We loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Garlic Chicken Fried Chicken

See how to make garlicky chicken breasts cooked chicken fried steak-style.

Southern Fried Chicken

Watch how to make this top-rated classic.

How to Make Buttermilk Fried Chicken

Chef John’s buttermilk fried chicken is impossibly crispy and tasty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States