Whiskey Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2011
This was ok. It really was just sweet and sour chicken. Was disappointed that the taste of the whiskey didn't come through more. Next time I'll marinate in whiskey. Also, not nearly as dark and carmelized as the picture. Sauce woudn't thicken so I had to add corn starch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
I made this for dinner tonight expecting to have what I saw in the picture but it did not look anything like it. The sauce was very light and I followed the recipe exactly with the exception of adding broccoli. I'm not sure if maybe I needed to use dark brown sugar instead of light brown sugar or if I needed to use a dark soy sauce. Even though it didn't like the same it tasted great! Next time I might try a dark soy sauce
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Augusta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2010
I followed this recipe perfectly and even used top of the line whiskey. I didn't like it at all. So much that I couldn't even finish what was on my plate. My husband eats everything and he didn't like it either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Inverness, Florida, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
Very good! I took the advice of many of the other reviewers and first sauteed onions and 1 clove of garlic in two tablespoons of olive oil and then during the last few minutes of cooking the chicken in the soy sauce mixture I added broccoli and red bell pepper. Lastly, I made some brown rice and poured it on top. Deliciousness!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GoingDomestic

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2009
This was a pretty good meal, but it wasn't overly memorable. I was expecting the whiskey to really give it a distinct, different flavor- but between the pineapple juice and brown sugar, really just ends up tasting like a generic asian chicken dish. We even added extra whiskey to give it more of a kick... ultimately I just felt bad for using up the Jack Daniels... whiskey is an expensive ingredient to have such a anti-climactic result. Like I said, it was good- just not much more interesting than the next chicken dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2009
A family pleaser! I made this as written and we really enjoyed it served with brown rice and broccoli.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2009
This was a good base. As is it's 3 stars. To me, it needed some tweaking. This is just my opinion. I added less that a cup of pineapple juice--1 cup would have been too sweet. I also added the whiskey by CAPful to desired taste. Also added chopped garlic, more pepper, broccoli, onions, corn starch, a pinch of salt and a heap of crushed pepper flakes. I also cooked the meat first (whole pieces) in a pan, poured all the ingredients into a baking dish and baked until done. I read where the smell of the whiskey cooking was not so good, so I baked it to burn the alcohol off. I then transferred everything bake into the pan I cooked the chicken in , cut up the chicken and added more of the above ingredients to taste. With a little tweaking, it's quite good. Some people like more of a sweet taste, some like spice. If you are going to go follow the recipe as is, mix the sauce together in a bowl and taste it, you can always add more to it. We loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2009
I really liked it alot. I would have given it 5 stars but it really just tasted like sweet and sour chicken. Maybe I'll add more whiskey next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2009
This recipe was edible (or at least for myself and my daughter), but that's about as good as it got. My husband hated it. I wish I had read all of the reviews before I made it. I'm not sure if I'm going to try it again. There are so many changes we would make to it that it wouldn't even be close to the original recipe. I'm not sure this is worth the time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fallbrook, California, USA
Living In: Elkton, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2009
my husband loved this. We had no left overs. I added cornstarch like a previous review said to do and I added some broccoli. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Garlic Chicken Fried Chicken

See how to make garlicky chicken breasts cooked chicken fried steak-style.

Southern Fried Chicken

Watch how to make this top-rated classic.

How to Make Chicken and Biscuits

It's like a cross between chicken pot pie and chicken and dumplings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States