Whiskey Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2014
Excellent Cake! Easy to make, and perfect the way the recipe is written. I like the crunchy bottom crust that formed from the morsels. We all don't like nuts, so none were added. My daughter raved about how good it was, still warm, out of the pan. Can't wait to have more tomorrow (since the reviews are saying it's better the second day!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LOGHOME24

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stillwater, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2013
This is a great recipe. No changes should be made (I get tired of people changing recipes then rating based on their changes). Do make sure the butter is cold, VERY COLD when you mix the batter. You'll get a thick batter that's hard for the butterscotch chips and nuts to sink through. I put all my nuts on top as I don't care for nuts mixed into my cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2013
This was definitely an easy cake to make. I would suggest checking the cake after 40 minutes because 50 minutes in my oven turned the cake dark brown. I wasn't sure I liked how all the chips sunk to the bottom; next time I make this cake I would add less chips to the batter and more to the top of the cake. The cake would most certainly be better with icing--something with whiskey in it. A couple of reviews here had good suggestions which I will try next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renae Giles

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
This cake is nothing short of amazing!! So easy to make. I put it in a tube pan rather than a 9x13, Beautiful. Everyone said it was beyond bakery quality and I'm not talking about grocery store bakeries. Going to give my daughter the recipe, new family heirloom recipe!! Thank you for sharing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JORDANBRENNASMOM

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TheBritishBaker
Reviewed: May 8, 2012
I did make just a few changes to meet my pantry contents. I used a butter cake mix in place of the yellow box mix and just 1/2 pack of butterscotch chips (thats all I had). This cake is so delicious I just adore the combination of the whiskey flavor and the butterscotch chips. I baked for 65 minutes and the cake is both slightly crisp on the crust but so moist inside. I will certainly be baking this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheBritishBaker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bakewell, Derbyshire, England, U.K.
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2011
the butterscotch adds good flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2011
Omg, this cake is awesome & has been a huge hit with family and friends. I made this cake 2 weeks in a row. I used Hennessey instead of Whisky, melted some butterscotch chips & mixed it with hennessey to glaze the top then sprinkled pecans. With the 1st attempt I did not use nuts but the 2nd attempt I used glazed pecans and both ways were equally great. My husband did not want to share the first cake after tasting it so I had to make another one in order for others to enjoy the experience of such a wonderful cake. I have gotten several request with offers to be paid a nice amount. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2011
AWE-SOME! I followed the reviewer's suggestions and reserved half cup of the chips and walnuts and made a glaze out of it. Could have used even a bit more glaze. How do you keep the chips from falling to the bottom? They got stuck on the bottom on the pan. Will definitely make again!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2010
This is a wonderful cake. I substitute a bag of toffee bits for the vanilla chips and it comes out even better since the toffe is suspended in the batter and melts as you bake it. This cake is best at least 12 hours after baking but it never seems to last long once you cut it. It is also the perfect cake to wrap and mail to friends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lynda k

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2009
I made this cake for my sister in law every year for the last 4 years for her birthday. Her favorite drink is Hennessy- With 3/4 cup add to this instead of any whiskey is wonderful. It's one of our families favorite desserts. And beleive me it is a meal all in it's own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shawna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Redding, California, USA
Living In: North Pole, Alaska, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Creamy Coconut Cake

See how to make a moist and creamy coconut cake.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Dump Cake I

This cake is as easy as, well, dumping ingredients in a pan. So yummy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States