Whiskey Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2001
I have made this cake 3 times in the past week. It was a smashing success at work and home. My friends and family keep asking me to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ruth Minsk Whitehead

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Passaic, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Ocala, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2004
This is a great cake! SO much better the day after, so plan ahead. I used pecans instead of walnuts - just a personal preference. I was given this recipe by a friend, and it said to reserve 1/2 cup (each) of the chips and nuts for the top of the cake instead of 1/4 (each) - I think I like that better. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2004
I made this cake for a group of friends. It was delicious!! One of the best things about it besides the flavor is that you SHOULD make it a day or two before you serve it. It only gets moister.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Paso Robles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2001
This cake is out of this world! It has a more-ish flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2002
This cake is out of this world!! I just made it today for the first time and it received rave reviews from my guests(the always on a diet type)!!!!! Not a morsel was left. I can't wait to bake it again. Thanks for posting it. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2003
I substituted a 10oz. bag of toffee bits for the butterscotch chips and was very pleased with the results. The candy pieces carmelized underneath the cake. It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DNAMCHEK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Reno, Nevada, USA
Living In: Matthews, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2004
THis cake was really good. I didnt put the nuts in it cuz my husband hates nuts but turned out just as well. Looking back I noticed I used all the butterscotch chips for the cake and forgot to add any on top but it was still wonderful. Sprinkled with powdered sugar. Great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2005
Delicious! Everyone who has tried a piece is giving it rave reviews. I just made it last night, and I'm already getting requests to make it again. I followed the recipe, except for adding the walnuts (not a nut lover).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2006
This cake was great!!! My co-workers loved it. There was not a single crumb left! Also I did this same recipe using 2 8"round pans and it was enough for 2 events.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2007
My Mother in law makes a similar cake. I made this twice. I used chopped cherries, mini chocolate chips and walnuts. I omitted the milk and used Captin Morgan's Spiced Rum. Excellent. I agree with others on the butterscotch chips. It made a mess of my pan. Dust it with powdered sugar and you are good to go. This is a great recipe for all those shaped bundt pans. Use baker's secret spray.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Taunton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Dump Cake I

This cake is as easy as, well, dumping ingredients in a pan. So yummy!

Creamy Coconut Cake

See how to make a moist and creamy coconut cake.

Slow Cooker Black Forest Cake

See how to make a rich Black Forest cake in the slow cooker!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States