Whiskey Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2006
I made this cake for the guys in my office on St. Patrick's Day. It was a hit! I did adapt it somewhat to make it a little lighter. I used 4 eggs, 1/3 cup Becel oil, 1/2 cup milk, 1/2 cup whiskey, 1/3 cup water. I only used half a package of butterscotch chips and 1 cup chopped walnuts. I baked the cake in a bundt pan and when cool, I pierced the top with a fork. I then took the reserved chips and walnuts added a Tbsp water and melted the chips(along with the walnuts) in the microwave. I stirred in a little icing sugar and 1 more Tbsp of the whiskey to make a glaze. Then I spooned the glaze over the cake and let it set. It was scrumptious! The glaze makes the cake - you get the whiskey without the alcohol being baked out of it, but only a taste! Slainte! Kat
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katskitchen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2004
I made this cake for a group of friends. It was delicious!! One of the best things about it besides the flavor is that you SHOULD make it a day or two before you serve it. It only gets moister.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Paso Robles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2003
I substituted a 10oz. bag of toffee bits for the butterscotch chips and was very pleased with the results. The candy pieces carmelized underneath the cake. It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DNAMCHEK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Reno, Nevada, USA
Living In: Matthews, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2007
My Mother in law makes a similar cake. I made this twice. I used chopped cherries, mini chocolate chips and walnuts. I omitted the milk and used Captin Morgan's Spiced Rum. Excellent. I agree with others on the butterscotch chips. It made a mess of my pan. Dust it with powdered sugar and you are good to go. This is a great recipe for all those shaped bundt pans. Use baker's secret spray.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Taunton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2004
This is a great cake! SO much better the day after, so plan ahead. I used pecans instead of walnuts - just a personal preference. I was given this recipe by a friend, and it said to reserve 1/2 cup (each) of the chips and nuts for the top of the cake instead of 1/4 (each) - I think I like that better. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2002
This cake is out of this world!! I just made it today for the first time and it received rave reviews from my guests(the always on a diet type)!!!!! Not a morsel was left. I can't wait to bake it again. Thanks for posting it. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2004
THis cake was really good. I didnt put the nuts in it cuz my husband hates nuts but turned out just as well. Looking back I noticed I used all the butterscotch chips for the cake and forgot to add any on top but it was still wonderful. Sprinkled with powdered sugar. Great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2001
I have made this cake 3 times in the past week. It was a smashing success at work and home. My friends and family keep asking me to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ruth Minsk Whitehead

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Passaic, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Ocala, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2001
This cake is out of this world! It has a more-ish flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2010
This is a wonderful cake. I substitute a bag of toffee bits for the vanilla chips and it comes out even better since the toffe is suspended in the batter and melts as you bake it. This cake is best at least 12 hours after baking but it never seems to last long once you cut it. It is also the perfect cake to wrap and mail to friends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lynda k

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Coconut Cake

See how to make a moist and creamy coconut cake.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Dump Cake I

This cake is as easy as, well, dumping ingredients in a pan. So yummy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States