Whiskey Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2001
This cake is out of this world! It has a more-ish flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2001
I have made this cake 3 times in the past week. It was a smashing success at work and home. My friends and family keep asking me to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Passaic, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Ocala, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2002
This cake is out of this world!! I just made it today for the first time and it received rave reviews from my guests(the always on a diet type)!!!!! Not a morsel was left. I can't wait to bake it again. Thanks for posting it. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2003
I substituted a 10oz. bag of toffee bits for the butterscotch chips and was very pleased with the results. The candy pieces carmelized underneath the cake. It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DNAMCHEK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Reno, Nevada, USA
Living In: Matthews, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2004
THis cake was really good. I didnt put the nuts in it cuz my husband hates nuts but turned out just as well. Looking back I noticed I used all the butterscotch chips for the cake and forgot to add any on top but it was still wonderful. Sprinkled with powdered sugar. Great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2004
This is a great cake! SO much better the day after, so plan ahead. I used pecans instead of walnuts - just a personal preference. I was given this recipe by a friend, and it said to reserve 1/2 cup (each) of the chips and nuts for the top of the cake instead of 1/4 (each) - I think I like that better. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2004
I made this cake for a group of friends. It was delicious!! One of the best things about it besides the flavor is that you SHOULD make it a day or two before you serve it. It only gets moister.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Paso Robles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2005
Delicious! Everyone who has tried a piece is giving it rave reviews. I just made it last night, and I'm already getting requests to make it again. I followed the recipe, except for adding the walnuts (not a nut lover).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2006
This cake was very moist. However the flavor was only so-so beceause the butterscotch chips all sank to the bottom and kinda burned into a sticky bitter syrup. Also it looked too plain so I sprinkled it with powdered sugar. I think I'll omit the chips next time, or just sprinkle some on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica53214

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: West Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2006
I made this cake for the guys in my office on St. Patrick's Day. It was a hit! I did adapt it somewhat to make it a little lighter. I used 4 eggs, 1/3 cup Becel oil, 1/2 cup milk, 1/2 cup whiskey, 1/3 cup water. I only used half a package of butterscotch chips and 1 cup chopped walnuts. I baked the cake in a bundt pan and when cool, I pierced the top with a fork. I then took the reserved chips and walnuts added a Tbsp water and melted the chips(along with the walnuts) in the microwave. I stirred in a little icing sugar and 1 more Tbsp of the whiskey to make a glaze. Then I spooned the glaze over the cake and let it set. It was scrumptious! The glaze makes the cake - you get the whiskey without the alcohol being baked out of it, but only a taste! Slainte! Kat
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katskitchen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Coconut Cake

See how to make a moist and creamy coconut cake.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Dump Cake I

This cake is as easy as, well, dumping ingredients in a pan. So yummy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States