Whipping Cream Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2009
Just about the best pound cake I have ever made! Took to work & every one raved about it and asked for the recipe. It does take alot of beating, but well worth the effort. Has a very dense texture & would make strawberry shortcake. Thank you for this excellent recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2009
This recipe was good but not the very best pound cake I have ever tasted. I followed the recipe exactly so my results were as expected. The cake itself had a nice flavor and the crust. I think the almond flavoring adds a nice touch for flavor. The areas of improvement for this cake would be that the texture is a little dry. This is not really a moist pound cake. Also, the butter flavor is very subtle so this cake actually tasted closer to a regular yellow cake with a little twist. It's a nice change but I'll keep looking for that truly home made pound cake recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2009
MY MOM MAKES THIS CAKE FOR ME EVERY YEAR FOR MY BIRTHDAY SINCE I WAS YOUNG(AT MY REQUEST) I ACTUALLY WATCHED HER MAKE IT YESTERDAY FOR MY BDAY AND IT IS ALMOST EXACTLY HER RECIPE. SHE USES HALF LEMON AND HALF VANILLA EXTRACT. THIS RECIPE HAS BEEN IN THE FAMILY FOR DECADES AND I FOUND IT ONLINE WHO WOULD HAVE THOUGHT! I LOVE LOVE LOVE THIS CAKE!*edit* she also cooks this cake for about 1 hr at 325 and turns down the oven to 300 for the last 20-25 mins based off of the oven and how fast its browing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tashaboo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: May 13, 2009
This is a wonderful pound cake recipe! My standard recipe that I've been using for many years is a bit heavier with an additional 1/2 cup butter, and an 8 oz. package of cream cheese. I didn't think I'd ever find another pound cake recipe that I'd enjoy as much my old standard. This recipe is a very nice surprise! I made this cake exactly as written to take to my granddaughter's third birthday party, and it received rave reviews. One woman said that it tasted like a cross between a homemade angel food cake and a pound cake. She renamed it, "angel pound cake", and took home a very large piece. My sons claim that they prefer my "older" recipe; I've decided that next time, I'm not going to mention that I tried a different recipe. I, on the other hand, LOVE this new recipe. The next time I make this, I'm going to throw in a good amount of Irish Cream, because I think the lightness of this cake is what makes it so adaptable to different flavorings. Great recipe; lighter than the standard, and very, very tasty. Thank you so much for posting it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2009
This is the one! Moist, soft, fluffy and a crowd pleaser!I made it for the first time for a meeting and wasn't sure of people's taste. EVERYONE loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jojo1018

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2009
Love the cake! I did add 1 tablespoon of vanilla. Taking it to church for a special event tommorow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2009
made a marble cake with this recipe and chocolate pound cake III. VERY GOOD! I loved the flavor of this vanilla cake. Next time I'll add lemon and orange zest to the batter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2009
Very good pound cake. I only made the following few changes based on other reviews. Added 2 tablespoons vanilla, 1 teaspoon almond extract and had to bake it for 1 hour and 23 minutes. After an hour cover the cake with foil so top does not burn. Added glaze which is consisted of powered sugar, vanilla and milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2009
This cake is wonderful.Everytime I make it half of it disappears in a day. I made it with 1 tsp each of lemon and coconut flavoring. Made it even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Marietta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2009
I made this cake last night and added two tablespoons of instant coffee to it. It tastes delicious. Next time I am going to try adding maple and walnuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by muddyriver

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Port Colborne, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 99) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Ice Cream Cake

A super-easy dessert made of yummy layers of chocolate cake and ice cream.

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

GA Peach Pound Cake

Delectable and dense pound cake loaded with juicy and sweet peach chunks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States