Whipping Cream Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2009
MY MOM MAKES THIS CAKE FOR ME EVERY YEAR FOR MY BIRTHDAY SINCE I WAS YOUNG(AT MY REQUEST) I ACTUALLY WATCHED HER MAKE IT YESTERDAY FOR MY BDAY AND IT IS ALMOST EXACTLY HER RECIPE. SHE USES HALF LEMON AND HALF VANILLA EXTRACT. THIS RECIPE HAS BEEN IN THE FAMILY FOR DECADES AND I FOUND IT ONLINE WHO WOULD HAVE THOUGHT! I LOVE LOVE LOVE THIS CAKE!*edit* she also cooks this cake for about 1 hr at 325 and turns down the oven to 300 for the last 20-25 mins based off of the oven and how fast its browing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tashaboo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: May 13, 2009
This is a wonderful pound cake recipe! My standard recipe that I've been using for many years is a bit heavier with an additional 1/2 cup butter, and an 8 oz. package of cream cheese. I didn't think I'd ever find another pound cake recipe that I'd enjoy as much my old standard. This recipe is a very nice surprise! I made this cake exactly as written to take to my granddaughter's third birthday party, and it received rave reviews. One woman said that it tasted like a cross between a homemade angel food cake and a pound cake. She renamed it, "angel pound cake", and took home a very large piece. My sons claim that they prefer my "older" recipe; I've decided that next time, I'm not going to mention that I tried a different recipe. I, on the other hand, LOVE this new recipe. The next time I make this, I'm going to throw in a good amount of Irish Cream, because I think the lightness of this cake is what makes it so adaptable to different flavorings. Great recipe; lighter than the standard, and very, very tasty. Thank you so much for posting it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2009
This is the one! Moist, soft, fluffy and a crowd pleaser!I made it for the first time for a meeting and wasn't sure of people's taste. EVERYONE loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jojo1018

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2009
Love the cake! I did add 1 tablespoon of vanilla. Taking it to church for a special event tommorow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2009
made a marble cake with this recipe and chocolate pound cake III. VERY GOOD! I loved the flavor of this vanilla cake. Next time I'll add lemon and orange zest to the batter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2009
Very good pound cake. I only made the following few changes based on other reviews. Added 2 tablespoons vanilla, 1 teaspoon almond extract and had to bake it for 1 hour and 23 minutes. After an hour cover the cake with foil so top does not burn. Added glaze which is consisted of powered sugar, vanilla and milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2009
This cake is wonderful.Everytime I make it half of it disappears in a day. I made it with 1 tsp each of lemon and coconut flavoring. Made it even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Marietta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2009
I made this cake last night and added two tablespoons of instant coffee to it. It tastes delicious. Next time I am going to try adding maple and walnuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by muddyriver

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Port Colborne, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2008
This is my favorite pound cake so far! I did make a few modifications to maximize the flavor of the pound cake. I did use the almond flavoring and I doubled the vanilla flavoring. Also, I didn't have "cake flour" so I just double sifted all purpose flour and used 2.5 cups instead of 3 cups. Also for added flavor I did a basic rum glaze (water, sugar, butter, and rum flavoring). I poked tiny holes in the pound cake (with a toothpick) before pouring the glaze over the cake so the flavor would really "sink in." The end result was a very moist, flavorful pound cake. I will definitely be making one of these again and very soon! Happy Baking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anderson, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2008
I cooked this cake for same friends and they like it a lot, the only change that I made was that I put only 2 cups of sugar but because I don't like thinks really sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 97) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Ice Cream Cake

A super-easy dessert made of yummy layers of chocolate cake and ice cream.

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States