Whipping Cream Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2010
Awesome! Got rave reviews from the family. Delicious crunch to the crust needs no frosting. Dusted lightly with powdered sugar (mostly to hide imperfections from baking). I served it with macerated berries. Will definitely make again--no changes necessary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2010
This is a wonderful recipe. The first time I made this cake, I used unsalted butter. I was not satisfied with the reult. Thereafter, I used salted butter. Excellent cake everytime.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2010
I serve this cake with a toffee sauce. It is so good, that even my husband who hates cake gobbles it right up! Very easy to make and very adaptable!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2010
This makes a wonderful pound-type cake (now quite a traditional pound). Love the texture and the end result. Complaints about not enough flavor so suggest you use only pure vanilla becuase it does make a difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newry, County Down, Northern Ireland, U.K.
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2010
Arg. It ended up getting stuck in the pan so about 1/3 of it looks like ... but it sure tastes wonderful!! Love how perfectly moist and *flavorful* it is! The outer pieces have a delicate crispiness from the sugar, providing a slight chewiness on the exterior. It's heavenly, really. I subbed half AP flour because I ran out of cake...and skipped the almond because I was out of that too. Another thing this recipe is good for: reminding me I'm out of the basics. =) Good luck! Grease that pan well!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FNChef

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Prior Lake, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Lakeville, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2010
im not sure what happend,but my cake didnt come out very good. people ate a little of it, but mostly just tossed the cake part and ate the strawberries i put on top. it came out with a rather strange flavor and was super heavy and dense.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erica Moore

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2010
This is just one variation of a tried and true, classic pound cake with a standard list of ingredients and their measurements - 1 c. butter, 3 c. sugar, 6 eggs, 3 c. flour, a bit of flavoring and either a cup of buttermilk (usually with 1/4 tsp. of baking soda), a package of cream cheese, a cup of sour cream or, in this case, a cup of whipping cream. Some use cake flour, some all purpose flour, but the more you make this pound cake you'll find you won't even need a recipe for it anymore because the "formula" is so simple and straightforward, the ingredients and measurements like science. All variations are dependable and excellent but... this recipe is a little different from others in that it has a lighter, less dense crumb and is soooo tender and soft. I attribute that to the fact that cake flour and whipping cream are used. Exceptional, with expertly written instructions for those not familiar with the techniques necessary to make a perfect, heavenly pound cake. (The eggs are the only leavener in this type of cake for instance, so the creaming of the butter and sugar, then adding the eggs one by one to keep the batter emulsified and aerated is critical!) I used this batter for cupcakes today, adding about 1/4 cup of mullti-colored jimmies (fun!) and frosted them with a simple buttercream frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
95 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2010
This cake is moist and dense enough as a pound cake for my taste. However, it tastes kind of eggy, so next time I will be more heavy handed with the flavoring. I baked this in two 6x3 pans, and it rose well without overflowing. DEFINITELY beat the butter and sugar thoroughly as directed to incorporate enough air for a light pound cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2010
This is the best pound cake ever! I used European butter, baker's sugar and 2 tsp almond extract. First cake I made that turned out this good-so easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2010
i was looking for a recie to use up my extra heavy whipping cream. The taste was okay but definately not a favorite. i dont plan on making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 102) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

Ice Cream Cake

A super-easy dessert made of yummy layers of chocolate cake and ice cream.

GA Peach Pound Cake

Delectable and dense pound cake loaded with juicy and sweet peach chunks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States