Whipping Cream Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
I so love this recipe! Hands down one of thee best!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2012
This cake was delicious. The bottom had a nice chewy crunch to it. I did make a few changes though. I ran out of cake flour so I used 2 cups cake flour and 1 cup (less 1tbsp) all purpose flour. In addition to the 2 tsp of vanilla extract, I used 2 tsp of almond extract and 1 tsp of lemon extract. I also used salted butter. I didn't have a problem with the cooking time but I did start baking at 400 degrees for about 45 minutes and 350 for about another 15-20 minutes. My husband was praising the taste before he had even finished chewing. His tolerance for sugar is much lower than mine and he didn't think it was too sweet. I will definitely be making this again especially since its such as easy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2012
This is a great cake that my family loves.....although it should be baked at 350 not 325. Mine is still in the oven after almost 2 hours.....It will be divine once done. I should have known better since I've made this before.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2012
This was my first attempt at making a pound cake. I found that it was relatively easy to make, but took almost twice as long to bake. I used a silicone bundt pan, so I'm not sure if that is why. This was also my first attempt at making anything in a silicone bundt pan, so I'm not sure if that made the difference in cooking time, or if I needed to adjust the temperature. I ended up putting the temp up to 375 for the last 15 minutes. Overall, the sugary crust on the outside is fabulous, and the inside is so nice and moist! I will say though, it is a tad too sweet, so maybe eliminating 1/2 to a full cup of sugar will make a difference. I also took others' advice and used all purpose flour, removing 1 tbsp per cup. I did not have any almond extract, so I used an extra tsp of vanilla, which gave the cake great flavor! I kept the presentation quite simple with just a dusting of icing sugar. Overall, I am very impressed with this recipe! I brought half of it to work, and it has since disappeared!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
An AR search for a pound cake that didn't need sour cream, like my usual recipe (because I was all out) turned this up, and what a fabulous find! It's everything a pound cake should be: dense, moist, buttery rich with a tender crumb. This is it. The recipe is basic, as well as quite forgiving. I only had half the whipping cream called for, so I subbed 1/2 cup of buttermilk for the missing cream, and added a couple of pinches of baking soda, which neutralizes the acid in the buttermilk. I stayed with the 2 tsp of vanilla extract, but also added a dash each of almond, maple, coconut, orange and lemon extracts. The result was a delightfully, subtly complex flavor. It made an outstanding base for pureed strawberries and ice cream, and turned the ordinary into a memorable dessert. Subbing Splenda for half of the sugar (equal measurement) turns out just the same as if you had used all sugar. I sprinkled the pan with sugar after greasing it, and the crust was attractively shiny, giving a little punch of sweetness. Note: Cutting the ingredients in half fits perfectly in a 9"X5" loaf pan. A++
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baricat

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2011
This has become one of our family favorites! Thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2011
I love the texture of the cake but I do feel it is missing something. Maybe a little salt to enhance the other flavors?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2011
My texture came out perfect with a nuce crust on the outside, and a soft semi-dense almost white color on the inside. However, I usually follow a recipe exact the first time, then see if I need changes. This needs something. It lacked flavor other than maybe that tiny reach of flour flavor. Not sure if it needs salt, or like other and double the extrcts. A little let down after seeing the reviews. I might make again, then again I might not. Made a french buttercream to pipe on slices and place fruit on top, it helped with the taste, but still lacked something. Even my kids asked what was missing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2011
So good! Made this for Easter dinner and everyone loved it. The outside developed a crispy little crust, and it was like it was candy coated!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2011
Excellent cake. Husband loved it. For my personal taste I will add more almond extract next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 102) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

Ice Cream Cake

A super-easy dessert made of yummy layers of chocolate cake and ice cream.

GA Peach Pound Cake

Delectable and dense pound cake loaded with juicy and sweet peach chunks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States