Whipping Cream Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2006
This is a superb recipe -- with one catch. I more than halved the sugar and it's still "somewhat " sweeter than what we're used to. This is a great plain cake for frosting and decoration. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2005
My mother started making this recipe over 25 years ago. It was an instant hit with the family and has become a holiday tradition ever since. She passed away several years ago and I now carry on the tradition every year making sure my father and brother are among the first recipients. (Which they basically DEMAND that they receive their poundcakes every year)! We've always put the recipe into two loaf pans, and I now make about 60 loaves each Christmas season to give to co-workers and friends. If I could give this recipe a 10 star rating, I would!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2005
My mother makes a fabulous whipping cream pound cake every Thanksgiving and will NOT give up the recipe. I found this one and it's almost as good as hers! The only thing I would change is the amount of sugar-both my husband and I thought it was too sweet. Other than that, it's a very great cake. Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2005
I have never had a pound cake before, hence cannot compare. But this turned out to be great. I halfed the recipe and doubled the vanilla, it was perfect.Will definitely make again, with maybe chocolate chips/Orange juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2005
A *WONDERFULLY* MOIST, DENSE AND FLAVORFUL POUND CAKE THAT TASTES GREAT ALL ON ITS OWN. I CAN IMAGINE THIS POUND CAKE TOPPED WITH LUSCIOUS FRESH FRUIT WITH FRESH WHIPPED CREAM ON TOP, OR ICE CREAM DRIZZLED WITH CHOCOLATE AND CARAMEL SAUCE. YUMMY! ARE YOU HUNGRY YET? MAKE THIS RECIPE!! YOU WILL NOT BE DISAPPOINTED!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2005
Moist, light and delicious. I used 1 cup whipping cream and all purpose bread flour minus 3 tablespoons. The taste is wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Decatur, Alabama, USA
Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2005
EXCELLENT! I make this recipe all the time and it is wonderful! I use all purpose flour and just remove one Tablespoon of flour from each cup. I've also tried using coffee creamer when I dont have heavy cream and it works great! This cake is really good with a butter rum topping!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2005
This cake was alwalys a success out of the elven[and on going] times I used it!! ---(--(-@
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Angie, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2004
my kids ate this cake up
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2004
Wow. This bread is so freakin good..( I'm munching on it right now!) I have little baking experince and have no idea what a tube pan is. I used 2 loaf pans, and they came out PERFECT. I used half whipping cream and half french vanilla coffee mate. Also doubled vanilla extract. Flavor IS hard to taste, but is divine none the less. GREAT RECIPE and SO EASY!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 99) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Ice Cream Cake

A super-easy dessert made of yummy layers of chocolate cake and ice cream.

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

GA Peach Pound Cake

Delectable and dense pound cake loaded with juicy and sweet peach chunks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States