Whipping Cream Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2008
This is my favorite pound cake so far! I did make a few modifications to maximize the flavor of the pound cake. I did use the almond flavoring and I doubled the vanilla flavoring. Also, I didn't have "cake flour" so I just double sifted all purpose flour and used 2.5 cups instead of 3 cups. Also for added flavor I did a basic rum glaze (water, sugar, butter, and rum flavoring). I poked tiny holes in the pound cake (with a toothpick) before pouring the glaze over the cake so the flavor would really "sink in." The end result was a very moist, flavorful pound cake. I will definitely be making one of these again and very soon! Happy Baking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anderson, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2008
I cooked this cake for same friends and they like it a lot, the only change that I made was that I put only 2 cups of sugar but because I don't like thinks really sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2008
This is now one of my favorite pound cake recipes.I added 1 box of vanilla pudding.This cake melts in your mouth. I'm so excited to have found this receipe.Thank you for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2008
We love this cake. I have friends asking me to bring it to holiday parties all the time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Washington, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2008
This cake is light, fluufy and super moist. I did alter the recipe the second time I baked it to give it more flavor. I used 1tsp.vanilla, 1tsp.lemon and 1tsp.orange. The flavor was much better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Aurora, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2008
Very soft, moist, and yummy. I cut back on the sugar, but it still tasted great! This one is a keeper =]
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2008
Wonderful cake with the most incredible texture! I did use cake flour, increased the vanilla/almond extract a bit and used about 1/2 cup hazelnut coffee creamer in place of some of the heavy cream. The one thing missing in the reviews is a warning about how much batter this recipe makes. I used two 9x5 loaf pans (baked for 1 hour and 5 minutes) and the cake spilled over the edges....alot! It didn't drip in the oven but made very odd shaped loaves which had to have the edges trimmed off. Not the most appealing look for a pound cake! In the future, I will use three loaf pans or perhaps a bundt pan and one loaf pan. Excellent cake, well worth the time and....it makes alot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2007
Very good and easy pound cake recipe. I added fresh lemon juice and made a lemon glaze and baked mine in a bundt pan...it turned out really pretty and was awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GINGERBREAD_CA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2007
Not what I expected. Seems like it was lacking in flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clarksdale, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2007
This was ok but nothing really special. I would eat it again but I think I would prefer one of the other pound cakes with more flavor. Thanks though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Java_Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 99) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Ice Cream Cake

A super-easy dessert made of yummy layers of chocolate cake and ice cream.

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

GA Peach Pound Cake

Delectable and dense pound cake loaded with juicy and sweet peach chunks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States