Whipping Cream Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2013
Beautiful pound cake. All my co-workers loved it asked me to make another one. Followed recipe with no substitutions. Nice crust on top and great flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2013
This is one of my 5 star recipes - love it. Have a question - Can I make ahead of time and freeze? - putting confectioners sugar on after thawed? borninnyc
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hamilton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2013
I love this cake so do my son! It is so easy and awesome. With a scoop of ice cream or fresh strawberries!! Wow
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
My cake was done 20 mins. earlier than in the recipe. I thought it was bland tasting was very heavy tasting for a pound cake. I definitely would not make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2012
Very good and moist. Tasted great with chocolate ganache frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
this is my absolute favorite pound cake recipe... i actually used 5 eggs instead of 6 and it worked just fine... LOVE THIS RECIPE!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2012
This cake was delicious. The bottom had a nice chewy crunch to it. I did make a few changes though. I ran out of cake flour so I used 2 cups cake flour and 1 cup (less 1tbsp) all purpose flour. In addition to the 2 tsp of vanilla extract, I used 2 tsp of almond extract and 1 tsp of lemon extract. I also used salted butter. I didn't have a problem with the cooking time but I did start baking at 400 degrees for about 45 minutes and 350 for about another 15-20 minutes. My husband was praising the taste before he had even finished chewing. His tolerance for sugar is much lower than mine and he didn't think it was too sweet. I will definitely be making this again especially since its such as easy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2012
This is a great cake that my family loves.....although it should be baked at 350 not 325. Mine is still in the oven after almost 2 hours.....It will be divine once done. I should have known better since I've made this before.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2012
This was my first attempt at making a pound cake. I found that it was relatively easy to make, but took almost twice as long to bake. I used a silicone bundt pan, so I'm not sure if that is why. This was also my first attempt at making anything in a silicone bundt pan, so I'm not sure if that made the difference in cooking time, or if I needed to adjust the temperature. I ended up putting the temp up to 375 for the last 15 minutes. Overall, the sugary crust on the outside is fabulous, and the inside is so nice and moist! I will say though, it is a tad too sweet, so maybe eliminating 1/2 to a full cup of sugar will make a difference. I also took others' advice and used all purpose flour, removing 1 tbsp per cup. I did not have any almond extract, so I used an extra tsp of vanilla, which gave the cake great flavor! I kept the presentation quite simple with just a dusting of icing sugar. Overall, I am very impressed with this recipe! I brought half of it to work, and it has since disappeared!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
An AR search for a pound cake that didn't need sour cream, like my usual recipe (because I was all out) turned this up, and what a fabulous find! It's everything a pound cake should be: dense, moist, buttery rich with a tender crumb. This is it. The recipe is basic, as well as quite forgiving. I only had half the whipping cream called for, so I subbed 1/2 cup of buttermilk for the missing cream, and added a couple of pinches of baking soda, which neutralizes the acid in the buttermilk. I stayed with the 2 tsp of vanilla extract, but also added a dash each of almond, maple, coconut, orange and lemon extracts. The result was a delightfully, subtly complex flavor. It made an outstanding base for pureed strawberries and ice cream, and turned the ordinary into a memorable dessert. Subbing Splenda for half of the sugar (equal measurement) turns out just the same as if you had used all sugar. I sprinkled the pan with sugar after greasing it, and the crust was attractively shiny, giving a little punch of sweetness. Note: Cutting the ingredients in half fits perfectly in a 9"X5" loaf pan. A++
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baricat

Cooking Level: Professional


Displaying results 11-20 (of 97) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Ice Cream Cake

A super-easy dessert made of yummy layers of chocolate cake and ice cream.

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States