Whipping Cream Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2008
Very soft, moist, and yummy. I cut back on the sugar, but it still tasted great! This one is a keeper =]
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2008
Wonderful cake with the most incredible texture! I did use cake flour, increased the vanilla/almond extract a bit and used about 1/2 cup hazelnut coffee creamer in place of some of the heavy cream. The one thing missing in the reviews is a warning about how much batter this recipe makes. I used two 9x5 loaf pans (baked for 1 hour and 5 minutes) and the cake spilled over the edges....alot! It didn't drip in the oven but made very odd shaped loaves which had to have the edges trimmed off. Not the most appealing look for a pound cake! In the future, I will use three loaf pans or perhaps a bundt pan and one loaf pan. Excellent cake, well worth the time and....it makes alot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2007
Very good and easy pound cake recipe. I added fresh lemon juice and made a lemon glaze and baked mine in a bundt pan...it turned out really pretty and was awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GINGERBREAD_CA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2007
Not what I expected. Seems like it was lacking in flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clarksdale, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2007
This was ok but nothing really special. I would eat it again but I think I would prefer one of the other pound cakes with more flavor. Thanks though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Java_Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2007
Like others, I doubled the extracts and used 1 TBSP less per cup of all-purpose flour. Halved the recipe and made mini-cupcakes. If you do this, be careful not to overbake! Definitely use the toothpick test. Mine took around 20 minutes. Flavor was good, very almond-y, much like a butter cookie. Appearances are not so great; cupcakes were flat and didn't hold shape very well. I frosted with the frosting recipe from "Wednesday Cookies" off this site. Good recipe, but will make as bundt as directed next time. *NEXT TIME IS HERE* Cake turned out PERFECTLY. I didn't have almond extract, so I tripled the vanilla. Delicious, light and beautiful! Didn't frost it and was still very flavorful. 5 stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2007
I was so scared the batter was going to overflow in my pan because it came up within 1 inch of the top before baking. It didn't though, surprisingly. This made a wonderfully dense and fine textured cake. Changes I made: omitted almond extract (didnt' have any), doubled the vanilla, and added 1/2 tsp. creme bouquet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dnguy55

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Lafayette, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2007
Definitely moist with a chewy crust. A deliciously true pound cake. This one goes into my recipe box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2007
It was more like a regular cake than a pound cake and lacked flavor. This was not what I was looking for. However, when made with flour minus 1 TBSP per cup and an additional 1 tsp of vanilla and ½ tsp of almond ... it makes a wonderful 5 star pound cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2007
I made this pound cake for Easter and LOVED it! After reading other reviews that said you couldn’t really taste the flavoring, I didn’t even bother to add any. I just made it as it was posted (without the almond extract) and it is so rich and delicious. My husband loves it. The cake is not too sweet, but just right. As someone else mentioned, I also used regular flour and just used 1 TB less per cup. It turned out fine. However, the cake took about 1 hour and 40 minutes to cook for me. I used an angle food cake pan so I’m not sure if that was the reason or not. Regardless, I’ll be making this cake again. It’s a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 94) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Ice Cream Cake

A super-easy dessert made of yummy layers of chocolate cake and ice cream.

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries with a cinnamon-sugar and pecan filling make a 5-star coffee cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States