Whipping Cream Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
I baked this cake on Sunday ! My husband had asked to please make a whipped cream pound cake that his grandmother use to make, I must admit I was scared since I am first time baker! All I can say I got nothing but GREAT reviews on the cake & he loved it! Thank you to my coach ;) and all recipes! I did a good job!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
If half stars could be given, I would give this a 3 1/2 star. It took about 20 mins longer to cook. It had a good flavor but I felt like it need a quarter of a cup less flour because i kept getting a floury aftertaste. About two days later the cake started to get hard as well. It was very sweet as others complained and I like sweet pound cake. But a 1/2 cup to a 1 cup less of sugar would be better for this cake. Would I make this again? hmmmmm.......I would give it another chance so with that being said. Try the recipe out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Organic Nut

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
Great pound cake recipe if you like the nice, crunchy outside layer. The texture is light, spongy, and still dense. I baked my in a bundt pan and found that I needed an additional 15 minutes. I also used a TBSP of vanilla based on other reviews - next time I may add two. The final product didn't have as strong of a vanilla flavor as I like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: South Riding, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2010
the texture of this recipe its fabulous, but i will add 2 cups instead of 3 cups of sugar, because for me its too sweet. everything else its OK, a very tasty pound cake, definitely its gonna be in my favorites
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kate

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Turin, Piemonte, Italy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2010
Delicious and moist. I halved the recipe and baked in it a loaf pan (had to bake for about 75 minutes to get done in the middle). I served slices with a spoonful of canned cherry pie filling and a dollop of Cool Whip on top. Would be great with strawberries or a drizzle of chocolate as well! A versatile cake that I'll definite make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by thislittlepiggy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Richmond, Indiana, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2010
Awesome! Got rave reviews from the family. Delicious crunch to the crust needs no frosting. Dusted lightly with powdered sugar (mostly to hide imperfections from baking). I served it with macerated berries. Will definitely make again--no changes necessary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2010
This is a wonderful recipe. The first time I made this cake, I used unsalted butter. I was not satisfied with the reult. Thereafter, I used salted butter. Excellent cake everytime.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2010
I serve this cake with a toffee sauce. It is so good, that even my husband who hates cake gobbles it right up! Very easy to make and very adaptable!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2010
This makes a wonderful pound-type cake (now quite a traditional pound). Love the texture and the end result. Complaints about not enough flavor so suggest you use only pure vanilla becuase it does make a difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newry, County Down, Northern Ireland, U.K.
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2010
Arg. It ended up getting stuck in the pan so about 1/3 of it looks like ... but it sure tastes wonderful!! Love how perfectly moist and *flavorful* it is! The outer pieces have a delicate crispiness from the sugar, providing a slight chewiness on the exterior. It's heavenly, really. I subbed half AP flour because I ran out of cake...and skipped the almond because I was out of that too. Another thing this recipe is good for: reminding me I'm out of the basics. =) Good luck! Grease that pan well!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FNChef

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Prior Lake, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Lakeville, Minnesota, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 97) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Ice Cream Cake

A super-easy dessert made of yummy layers of chocolate cake and ice cream.

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States