Whipping Cream Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2006
This was very good a big hit withall the family. A nice dense cake thats easy to make. I love it and will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sudbury, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Coniston, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2006
A little disapointed on how this cake turned out. You definitly need to add a bit of salt to even out the sweetness. Also very dry....I will not use again, thanx anyways.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pasadena, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2006
Excellent pound cake. The texture was perfect. It was great with strawberries and whipping cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by annanthony

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2006
Very good. However, as my dad said, "Only great if you like things really sweet".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2006
Sorry to give this a low rating, but I found this rather bland, and even a little dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mollycurls77

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bridgewater, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by What a Dish!
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2005
Great cake, and easy to make. I baked in a bundt pan, and it was almost too much batter, but it worked. Glazed with Satiny Chocolate Glaze, from this site. I added a teaspoon of almond extract along with the vanilla, but next time I'd add less almond. I made this for my hubby's birthday, and it was perfect!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by What a Dish!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2005
Wonderful! A tiny bit dry for eating plain, though I did repeatedly!! Absolutely delicious as part of a strawberry shortcake! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hampton, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2005
This is great for making petit fours as well. It is robust enough to endure dipping in apricot glaze then fondant without falling apart, but is moist and flavorful. It is even wonderful plain.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2005
I made this pound cake yesterday and was very pleased with the results. I followed the recipe exactly, making no substitutions or changes. If you like an old fashioned, dense, moist, and flavorful pound cake, then this is the cake for you. Like other reviewers I was nervous about the amount of vanilla called for, but I am so glad that I used the full amount. It gives great flavor without being over powering. This pound cake is clearly deserving of more than 5 stars. Thank you for a truly WONDERFUL recipe - one that I will look forward to making again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2005
Very heavy, dense and dry. Even with a glaze, this cake was a dismal failure. This recipe is going in the trash bin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

Ice Cream Cake

A super-easy dessert made of yummy layers of chocolate cake and ice cream.

GA Peach Pound Cake

Delectable and dense pound cake loaded with juicy and sweet peach chunks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States