Whipping Cream Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2006
Very good. However, as my dad said, "Only great if you like things really sweet".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2006
Sorry to give this a low rating, but I found this rather bland, and even a little dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mollycurls77

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bridgewater, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by What a Dish!
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2005
Great cake, and easy to make. I baked in a bundt pan, and it was almost too much batter, but it worked. Glazed with Satiny Chocolate Glaze, from this site. I added a teaspoon of almond extract along with the vanilla, but next time I'd add less almond. I made this for my hubby's birthday, and it was perfect!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by What a Dish!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2005
Wonderful! A tiny bit dry for eating plain, though I did repeatedly!! Absolutely delicious as part of a strawberry shortcake! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hampton, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2005
This is great for making petit fours as well. It is robust enough to endure dipping in apricot glaze then fondant without falling apart, but is moist and flavorful. It is even wonderful plain.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2005
I made this pound cake yesterday and was very pleased with the results. I followed the recipe exactly, making no substitutions or changes. If you like an old fashioned, dense, moist, and flavorful pound cake, then this is the cake for you. Like other reviewers I was nervous about the amount of vanilla called for, but I am so glad that I used the full amount. It gives great flavor without being over powering. This pound cake is clearly deserving of more than 5 stars. Thank you for a truly WONDERFUL recipe - one that I will look forward to making again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2005
Very heavy, dense and dry. Even with a glaze, this cake was a dismal failure. This recipe is going in the trash bin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2004
this cake is AWESOME. i LOVE it. i half the recipe and add 1/4 tsp. salt, 1 tsp. lemon extract, and 1/2 tsp. almond extract to the recipe because i'm crazy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2004
This was awesome-rich, dense and moist!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2003
Made this cake the other day. My family just loved this cake. Dense,firm, and the crumb was very fine. Easy and tasty what a great combination. I wasn't sure about the amount of vanilla but I am sure glad I used the full amount a really nice vanilla flavor. I made the recipe Strawberry fluff (All Recipes) to go with it I didn't frost the cake but I added a spoon to each slice how pretty and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Ice Cream Cake

A super-easy dessert made of yummy layers of chocolate cake and ice cream.

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States