Whipping Cream Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2011
I made this cake but I cut back on the eggs because other reviewers said that it was too eggy. I used four eggs and I am glad that I did. This cake was too dense for my taste but definitely a cake for molding. It taste good but I like a moist, soft cake. If you like cake that are extremely dense then this is the cake for you. I had to have a glass of milk to put it down. I wont make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dana Johnson

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2011
Wow! I've been on the hunt for the perfect pound cake and... this is it! The smell is delightful, the taste is wonderful, and most importantly, the texture is HEAVENLY. Follow the recipe! The method is important. The taste of the raw batter was reminiscent of Angel food cake. The baked cake was light, spongy, and dense all at the same time. Absolutely wonderful! It made the best strawberry shortcake we've ever had. Thank you so much for this recipe. We'll be using it over and over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by famfaithandfood,omy!

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Farmington, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2011
I followed this recipe to the letter and it completely overflowed my cake pans and ran all over my oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by carolyna

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
EXCELLENT cake. Perfect texture, dense, moist, held up well for a sculpted wedding cake. I creamed the butter and sugar mixture for a good 6-7 minutes in my stand mixer, then beat the butter/sugar/egg mixture for another 4-5 minutes before adding the remaining ingredients. I also added a scant teaspoon of almond extract. Since this cake is so deliciously rich, I'm not sure I'd want to serve it with a typical amount of buttercream frosting. I covered the cake with a very thin layer of buttercream and fondant; any more than that would've been too much, to me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by campagnes

Cooking Level: Professional

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2011
I made this easy on myself - measured out 2-1/2 c. of flour, and 1/4 c. plus 2 T. cornstarch. For some reason I have a tendency to make a lot of pound cakes and I've tried a good many of them. This recipe, while very good, is not my favorite. It's a beautiful cake in terms of texture, density and crumb. It's also very rich and moist, which was to be expected with the whipping cream and so many eggs. But it's almost TOO rich and eggy for a pound cake - 4-6 eggs, I've found, is perfect. I like that yellow "egginess" in a yellow layer cake, but didn't like it here. Also, it was a little too heavy on the vanilla for my tastes. Beware, this cake IS yellow, so keep that in mind if you're a doing a wedding cake or other cake where you want it to be more white.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2011
This cake had so many reviews for sculpting that I just had to try it. So far so great! The first two tiers are really holding their own weight, even without any interior structure besides a center skewer for alignment. My only complaint is that my hubby requested that I throw out the scraps after learning about the calories per serving! We had to throw them out because we'd each devoured a full serving before the carving even started. The only recommendation I have is for the baking time of a sheet cake with three flower nails (to avoid doming): 45 min at 325 degrees.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2010
Good firm cake. I washed & patted dry a handful of blueberries & folded them in last. I also added 1/2 tsp of salt. I think it helps the flavor. Used the lemon cream chese frosting from this site. Very good for a special occasion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lenihan5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2010
This is very simple and easy recipe. The batter was light and fluffy. With no leavening, I was wondering how it would turn out. I made one in a stainless steel Binet pan and one in a stone bundt pan. Both looked and smelled wonderful. I baked for one hour. I removed one after 10 minutes and the other I left in but the result was the same. I took the two cakes to a party for my guinea pigs to try and they all loved it. Someone else commented that it was a bit eggy as well. As for myself, I thought it was too eggy, dry and dense. I give it a 4*based on my friends' opinion, not necessarily what I would rate it at.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2010
I baked this cake today and I can't believe how moist and delicious it is. Can't waite to make in layers and ice it with just about anything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2009
Stellar. This is divine. It has a lovely texture as well as flavor. I followed the recipe as is. A large recipe, I will repeat this and freeze portions to have on hand for shortcake, unexpected guests, etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam Witzig

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bloomington, Illinois, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

Ice Cream Cake

A super-easy dessert made of yummy layers of chocolate cake and ice cream.

GA Peach Pound Cake

Delectable and dense pound cake loaded with juicy and sweet peach chunks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States